The ViewSonic VPC100 All In One – Future of computers?

What you are looking at is not just an LCD monitor. It is the ViewSonic VPC100 All-In-One computer.  Yes, that is the computer, built into the monitor chassis.

ViewSonic VPC100

If space is at premium the VPC100, which is only 35mm thick, may be an option.  According to the ViewSonic website this PC can operate independently, hardwired into a LAN network or work wirelessly in any 802.11b/g WiFi network. I found the specs on the VPC100 comparable to the specs that is currently being seen in today’s netbooks. This type of “all-in-one” PC may be the future; especially if cloud computing becomes a mainstay. Most computer users really do not take full advantage of the operating power or specs of their PC’s anyway. Really, what else would the everyday internet user need? Currently the VPC100 is a little pricey ($550 to $650) in my book, but it is worth a look see. If anyone out there has one of these, I would love to hear your comments.

Specs

Type
18.5″ Color TFT Active Matrix LCD

Display Area
16.1″ horizontal x 9.1″ vertical; 18.5″ diagonal

Resolution
1366×768

Contrast Ratio
1000:1 (typ)

Brightness
300 cd/m2 (typ)

Viewing Angles
160º horizontal, 160º vertical

Response Time
5ms (typ)

Light Source
Long life, 50,000 hrs. (typ)

AUDIO

Speaker
3-watt (x2)

CONNECTOR

Power
Adapter: 19V DC; 65W / Cord: 3-pin AC plug

POWER

Voltage
AC 100–240V (universal), +/–10% Wide Range

Consumption
60W (typ)

DC-DC Power
On-board, 19V DC-in to 3.3V, 5V, 5VSB, 12V

OPERATING CONDITIONS

Temperature
32-104ºF (0-40ºC)

Humidity
10-90% (non-condensing)

Altitude
0–6,000 ft. (1800 m), operational up to 10,000 ft. (3048 m) at reduced reliability and performance

DIMENSIONS

Physical (WxHxD)
17.72″ x 14.18″ x 1.38″ (450mm x 360mm x 35mm)

WEIGHT

Net
11.73 lb. (5.32 kg)

Gross
16.53 lb. (7.5 kg)

RECYCLE/DISPOSAL

The lamp in this product contains mercury. Please dispose of in accordance with local, state or federal laws.

PACKAGE CONTENTS

VPC100, power cord, power adapter, keyboard, mouse, Driver CD, Quick Start Guide, ViewSonic Wizard CD

VESA® MOUNT

100mm x 100mm

WARRANTY

1-year limited warranty on parts, labor and backlight

CORE

CPU Processor Type
Intel® Atom N270

CPU Processor Speed
1.6GHz Single Core, FSB 533MHz, BGA

Chipset
Intel® 945GSE + ICH7M

MEMORY

1GB DDR2 SDRAM

SOFTWARE

Operating System
Windows® XP Home

HARD DRIVE

Capacity
2.5″, 160GB SATA

COMMUNICATION

Ethernet LAN
10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet

Wireless LAN
802.11b/g

INPUT/OUTPUT

USB 2.0 (x4), PS/2 (x2), RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet LAN, Microphone jack, Earphone jack, 4-in-1 card reader (XD, SD, MMC, MS)

StumbleIt

Bookmark and Share

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

7 Responses to The ViewSonic VPC100 All In One – Future of computers?

  1. techpaul says:

    This is not the first such “all-in-ones” (think “Apple”) but is certainly an interesting contender in this “marketspace”, and I thank you for bringing it to my attention.

    It’s main ‘benefit’ — space savings (and.. lessening of cable tangle) — also means that your “upgrade” path is going to be limited, so I advise, when considering purchasing these types of machines, buying the more ‘loaded’, higher end ones — you probably won’t be able to upgrade them later.

  2. whatsonmypc says:

    TechPaul,

    I think we will be seeing more and more of these… Upgrade path is very limited; however, if these type of PC’s start to plummet in price, which is possible, upgrading major components (ie. video cards, etc) may become a thing of the past (for the basic home user). These PC’s will ultimately and solely be the link to the the cloud…

    Lot’s of neat things happening…

    Rick

  3. techpaul says:

    Maybe the younger set will let that happen.. but they’re going to have to pry my onboard OS and self-installed applications and games out of my cold, dead, fingers…

    You’re right though. Everything live and online is the future.
    A future with nightmare implications.

    But. Hey. It’s new. It’s shiny. And it’s kinda neat. Let’s rush at it with all our might! We’ll worry about the security (and privacy) implications later.

    Maybe.

  4. techpaul says:

    Sorry. Didn’t mean to be so one-sidedly negative, nor detract from your article.

    We have already seen many benefits from “Web 2.0″ (such as your and my ability to post articles and comments) and the “cloud computing” model.
    And what can be done is really only beginning to be explored.

    I just have concerns, is all.

    • whatsonmypc says:

      TechPaul,

      I’m with you all the way… I figure I’ll get buried with a Pentium Processor and Windows install CD… (LOL). I too, also have the same concerns.

      Rick

  5. Bill Mullins says:

    Rick,

    Science fiction becomes the reality once again! I’m blown away!

    “These PC’s will ultimately and solely be the link to the the cloud…” – I absolutely agree, and it’s safe to say; very quickly.

    Gotta agree with TechPaul though – “they’re going to have to pry my onboard OS and self-installed applications and games out of my cold, dead, fingers…”, mainly because I’m just an old Dinosaur at heart, and I LOVE games. LOL.

    Once again, a great article. Thanks for this.

    Bill

  6. Tux says:

    It’s interesting that you’d raise this conversation, as CIO.com’s got a really cool slideshow on these all-in-one monsters posted right now.

    These things have got in and out of fashion many times, and I think they’ll continue to do so. When I was in college, I lived with my uncle during my intership, and he had one of these things. It sucked. But I’m sure they’re getting better…..

    As far as “the cloud” is concerned, I’m not sure how complete that transition will ever really be. There will always be those types (such as myself) who refuse to share their information with whoever controls the cloud, be it Google, Microsoft or some other up-and-coming company.

    Bottom line for me: I like computers with pieces that I can work on. These all-in-one boxes are great for people who never upgrade their computers, just buy new ones every-so-often. My machines stay with me for the long haul (my laptop is pushing 6 years with no retirement in sight), so I like the option to upgrade.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

