bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine

Keep your eye out for “bing”. Bing is Microsoft’s NEW search engine that will replace Microsoft’s Live Search. Reportedly this strategy will help bring Microsoft in line with their main competitors (Yahoo and Google). Reports from Microsoft indicate that bing will be able to dig deeper and provide more relevant search results; PLUS, your search results will be presented dynamically in search categories, which is a different approach than what we are accustomed to. According to Microsoft, bing will be going live on June 3rd and will be phased in over the course of several days.  The official bing website is, bing.com.

To find out more about bing, and to watch a video demo of bing in action, click the “Find Out More” button below.

Bing & decide. Coming soon. Find out more...

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

158 Responses to bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine

  1. [...] bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine « What’s On My PC [...]

    • I agree with the others, I don’t like it showing up with out my asking for it I WANT IT REMOVED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND YES IT IS BING THAT IS SHOWING UP ON ME AND THE OTHERS,SO REMOVE THE BING BAR.

      • axis wheela says:

        quite simple to get rid of really just
        all you have to do is this
        start >settings > control panel >internet options > under the “general tab” in the Homepage simply highlight the Bing address and delete it…. click on “apply” and wave goodbye to Bing.

      • sue says:

        I did what you said to do….when I go to aol…I can’t read it as the BING bar comes up.!!!
        I now have 292 emails(some for school) and I can’t read even one!

        I did not ask for BING..it just showed up on my computer. HOW DO YOU GET RID OF IT???

        HELP PLEASE

      • Katelin Dahl says:

        YES RAMBLINRICK, I AM ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN THE PITA IS MICROSOFT’S NEW BABY GONE OUT OF CONTROL. JD

      • Katelin Dahl says:

        WOW, I SAID THE EXACT SAME THING. WHO HAS THE RIGHT TO VIOLATE MY PC? IT IS MINE AND MY CHOICE WHAT TO PUT ON IT. FOR YEARS I THOUGHT MICROSOFT WAS THE GREATEST, BUT FACE IT, GET RID OF BING PERMEATES BLOGS, REPLIES, SEARCHES, BY NOT MICROSOFT MUST KNOW IT IS A DETESTED AND INTENSLY ANNOYING ‘VIRUS’ SO I ASK YOU MICROSOFT, I DON’T CARE IF YOU LOVE THE MONSTER YOU CREATED, BUT PLEASE DO NOT FORCE IT ON EVERYBODY ELSE. WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT IN THE FIRST PLACE? AND HAVING RECEIVED HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF BITTER COMPLAINTS YOU DO NOTHING. AND WHILE THIS IS A FUTURISTIC COMMENT, WHO IN THE HELL INVENTED WINDOWS 8? AND WHY DON’T THEY FIX THE STUPID CHANGES THEY CREATED? NO START PAGE? SWIPE UNDER THE BORDERS FOR TOOLS? A SCREEN SO SENSITIVE YOU CONSTANTLY CAN’T GET WHERE YOU ARE GOING, YOU MOVE TO UNWANTED LOCATIONS. AND WHAT HAPPENED TO THE BACK ARROWS. NOW YOU GET A TINY TINY BOX WITH NO CLUE WHAT IS ON IT. WHILE IMPROVEMENTS ARE GOOD WHEN NEEDED, THE CHANGES TO WINDOWS 8 ARE MORE COSMETIC, I GUESS SUPPOSED TO LOOK HOT OR SLICK BUT THEY ARE JUST A PAIN IN THE ASS?

  2. Ron says:

    Bing has shown up on my computer without my asking for it ….How can I remove it from my computer??

    I don’t like it when things just “show-up” on my computer.

    Ron

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Ron,

      Are you sure it is “Bing”? “Bing” is Microsoft’s new search engine that is accessed via your web browser and would not just show up without some prompting by the user. Need a more accurate description (e.g. browser, what you exactly are seeing…).

      Thanks,

      Rick

      • Amy says:

        I got “bing” on my search bar….i did NOT ask for it and I hate something being added and making clutter without me asking for it. I want it removed. what right do they have to put stuff on my computer. I am trying to remove it but the darn thing won’t delete.
        I hat bing!!!
        I am gonna keep using my love, the google!!
        To hell with bing!!! u can’t push yourself on people, stupid bing!

      • steve proctor says:

        I dont ‘t want bing

    • Fran says:

      I am in agreement with Ron too. I don’t like items to just show up on my pc without my permission as Bing search engine did without my approval. I don’t care if Microsoft approved it or not. Please tell me how to remove it totally. You say it would not just show up without some prompting by the user. I never aked for it nor was prompted. I want it gone ASAP!
      Thanks for your help if possible. I also got IE 8.0 which I never did change to. I was happy with IE 6.0 until my VISTA Home Preinum required that I needed IE 7.0 which I dislike too. And now I can’t even revert bad to IE 7.0 why? Please help!!!

      Fran

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Fran,

        Thank you for visiting… My site is not a tech support site; but a tech info site; HOWEVER, I will try to assist you. First, I need specific details of how and where Bing showed up on your PC. I currently have access to approximately 10 PC’s and I have not experienced either of the issues you and Ron have experienced.

        Thank you,

        Rick

    • pollyg says:

      I am in agreement with Ron and Fran. I also received BING on my computer which I did not ask for and I want it off. It is not as WONDERFUL as you describe and is the worst SEARCH ENGINE ever invented!!!!

      If you are able to just put it on automatically, you can take it OFF AUTOMATICALLY!!!

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Pollyg,

        The first thing I would like to point out is that I am not a “tech support” blog. I prepare articles to teach people about information technology, computers and new things (like Bing). The problems you and others apparently are facing are attributed to several issues that I have researched. One, some people have not updated their browsers. I’m seeing issues with Bing if you are still running Internet Explorer 6… Also, another issue is not really “Bing”, it is Internet Explorer 8… If you recently updated to Internet Explorer 8, via the Microsoft update site, then Bing may have shown as the default search engine in your browser… I did find an article that may be helpful to you all titled “How to uninstall Bing” (and how it showed up on your PC). As I mentioned earlier, I touch numerous PC’s and have not experienced any “Bing” problems. Besides “Bing” is not software installed on your PC; it is a web based application that you access on the internet. Making “Bing” disappear is as simple as explained in the article I provided. I hope I have been helpful…

        Rick

      • John Montone says:

        I agree with everyone. I did not ask for that stupid ass bing to show up nor did I click anything agreeing to it appearing. I too want that trash gone.

      • sue says:

        I did all of this…and….I still can’t read my email!!!

        I am in college and need them! Everytime I open up mail, I see it for just a second, and then BING bar shows up…and I am dead in the water.
        I have a windows xp Older version, and Bing just showed up. I HATE IT!!!!!!!!
        How do you get rid of it in the mail?
        HELP

      • maxine dell says:

        this bing search engine page comes up and causes problems. I didn’t ask for it, it just came up and hard as heck to remove. I don’t like sneaky acts like this.

    • faye says:

      Please cancel……..

    • Dave Howell says:

      I had the same problem Ron. I tried to remove it and eventually got it off however I dropped something else along the way and now I have lost Google earth and although I try to download it it wont operate on my computer. It would appear that Microsoft is waging a war against Google and they are doing it on our machines. It really ticks me off. I was very pleased with how my machine was set up and how it was working. then along came Bing. It took over my operation system it ignored cancellation directions . and now my machine no longer works the way I would like it to. It appears that Bing has certain characteristics of a VIRUS.
      Good luck to you with this. I’m going to have to take my machine in for servicing by a pro. That will know doubt cost $ that I certainly will not be spending at Microsoft.

  3. barbara williams says:

    cancel bing from my computer…i did not ask for it nor do i want it

  4. Linda says:

    I also opened my computer- newly purchased from dell
    running vista, I opened my ie to find bing has successfully downloaded click here to finish. I didn’t i opened task manager and ended ie.
    I never searched it or asked for it. Saw an annoying commercial on tv last night otherwise I would have figured a virus. Im kind of upset about it too. but I think if you have automatic updates somewhere they probably have lingo to allow downloads from microsoft.
    Linda

  5. Fred O'Day says:

    I am in agreement with the three above, I want bing removed from my pc also!!!!!

  6. Please cancel and remove bing from my pc. It showed up a week ago. I did not ask for it and I do not want it. It showed up when I was trying to access Internet Explorer.

  7. robert white says:

    Remove Bing I don,t want it

  8. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  9. Mike says:

    Bing seems to install automatically as an ‘upgrade’ to IE8. Trying to remove it via tools-manage add-ons-search providers doesn’t work, the ‘remove’ button is grayed out. Trying to set another search provider as the default doesn’t work either. The default button isn’t grayed out, but clicking it does nothing. Using regedit and removing the user key for bing will remove bing, but it still sets “live’ as the default search provider when you restart IE8 and still won’t let you make another search provider the default. Does anyone know how to make google or yahoo the default search provider? I already deleted the user key for live, but it just comes back when IE8 restarts.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Mike,

      In reference to your second response, I did not post it due to it being a registry edit… You indicated you acquired this edit from another site. Could you please provide what site you referenced this hack at…

      Thanks,

      Rick

  10. robert says:

    It’s a shame this thread has started on your site, but you’d be a HERO if you could figure out WHY the IE8 upgrade is doing this!! It is very furstrating to see posts that tell us to “change our default search provider” when clicking the “change” button does nothing and trying to DELETE Bing as a search provider is impossible because the DELETE button magically GRAYS OUT when you highlight BING… I have been a dedicated supported of IE amidst a group of FIREFOX supporters and this really ticks me off!!!

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Robert,

      I wish I could be the Hero in this situation. Microsoft, in their infinite wisdom, and from my experience has a history of pushing things like “Bing” down people’s throats. In this case, which I have not experienced, they are plugging in Bing as the default search engine. The inability to change from that default sounds to me like a “bug” in the browser and not Microsoft, by intent, trying to capture a “Bing” audience. Just wouldn’t be good business on their part. If I were you I would do one of 2 things… 1) Dump Internet Explorer and go with Firefox, Chrome or Opera as your Browser. Personally, I do not and will not use Internet Explorer. You will find that almost all techs use Firefox. 2) Contact Microsoft and voice your complaint(s).

      Thank you for commenting…

      Rick

      • Amber Vaughn says:

        I run off of Firefox and can’t read my email either. It shows up for a second and then is replaced with a bing search bar…politely telling me on the side that it is powered by Bing.

        The only place I’m able to read my email is on my iPhone..which doesn’t help if it’s a large one or one that I need to print out.

  11. Paul says:

    HOW TO DELETE BING

    Step 1 click on Start.
    Step 2 click on Connect To.
    Step 3 click on Open Network and Sharing Center.
    Step 4 click on Internet Options.
    Step 5 highlight http://www.bing.com/.
    Step 6 Press Delete and close that.

    Step 7 Now Open Internet explorer
    step 8 Click on Arrow (drop down menu) next to Magnify glass
    Step 9 click manage search providers
    Step 10 Right click on Bing
    Step 11 click Remove,,, Bing is gone..

    Step 12 Not all good comes to those on earth,
    Step 13 but in Heaven all is good
    Step 14 so be ready for when Jesus comes

  12. James Bower says:

    Great blog, reading it through RSS feed as well

  13. James Bower says:

    Sorry for the double post, just wanted to let you know that i think something is wrong with the RSS feed of your blog and you might want to check it out, thanks

  14. brian says:

    Some one should sue msn/bing for loss of time and mental anguish. It is entrapment stratagies that they are using. Have you ever been picked up blindfolded and transported to a store that had a lock on the exit. After a few frantic hours you begin to eye the chessey puffs. Dont eat the chesey puffs your mind keeps saying. But you cant get out. Your mouth tarts to water. The neighbor has the steak youve been craving. But your still locked in. 1 hour later your fingers are orange, an your breath stinks.

  15. marilyn says:

    Get Bing off my computer! It is intrusive & I don’t like it!!

  16. Martha says:

    The Remove button is grayed out if Bing is the only Search Provider in your list. Once I added Google and set it to be my default Search Provider I was able to Remove Bing from my list. I don’t like that they installed it and required it by default but they do allow you to remove Bing once you have selected and assigned a different default. I will always use Google because they have more relevant results.

  17. Karen says:

    I have never gotten any result from bing. I get a blank page and I have to go through several uneccesary steps to get where I need to go. Bing sucks. It reminds me of the emotionally abusive ex who wouldn’t leave when I asked him to.

  18. Daryl J says:

    I removed it off fire fox by going to tools-manage add-ons, the ‘remove’ button is grayed out clicked on “Disable” and restarted fire fox and it was gone

  19. Delphine Marie says:

    I removed Bing from my computer by accident. I went to google.com and typed in toolbars. It prompted me to make google my search engine, followed the prompts and voila! Bing is gone. Try it. It worked for me.

  20. Scott says:

    I belive its even agaist the law for them to download bing on ur computer in the first place. We did not agree to it and they cant say its an update of any kind bc it dose not imporve Internet exploer. its only a search engine.

  21. uspotkonwspot says:

    so is there any way to get rid of bing i went the midevil way an tried to sign out of bing page after page iam lookin for theses magic words only to blink an think a whole hour later i never singed up help i dont have COD my boyfriend and family keep saying iam showing early flares help me get rid of this bing thing were did it come from an why.

  22. Mike Anders says:

    This is without a doubt the WORST search engine ever created. Even Ask.com is better.
    Let’s browse… “candy corn” Bing comes up with diapers, um… pantry broom ideas, and best Indian restaurants in Birmingham Alabama.
    Need I say more?

  23. debbie temple says:

    get bing off my computer now!!!

  24. Paul says:

    Bing cannot be removed from IE8. Microsoft integrated it into their product so once again they are forcing something on the users that no one wants!

  25. james smith says:

    I wish to have my old home page. i did not ask for bing. I have received some smart remarks from you guys. what can i do to gr]\\et some help

    • Ramblinrick says:

      James,

      No smart remarks ever from here… I think you think I am the inventor of Microsoft Bing. I wish I were… You need to contact Microsoft, not some poor blogger.

      Rick

  26. mary norcott says:

    i too would like Bing removed from my Lap-Top please

  27. wayne says:

    I have tried every instruction listed here and elsewhere to get rid of this bing crap and nothing works! bing is always back when I turn my computer back on. I didnt ask for this bing dung I did not download it nor do care for it. Now for the last time before I chuck my now usless computer in the dumpster, HOW DO YOU GET RID OF BING????????? HUH???????????

  28. wayne says:

    And yes the instructions were followed…

  29. Larry says:

    People, as Ramblinrick said, “he” is not the one responsible, give the guy a break. Sound out MS and complain to them. This guy is not involved with nor have a civic duty to do anything on his blog, but he has gone out of his way to try to help and instead of a “thank you”, he’s getting attitudes.

    Try using mint linux (try it live first) and you won’t have that bing problem. — not an add, but the only way I know to for sure not worry about it!

    Thanks all!

    Larry

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Larry,

      Thanks for your comment… I am actually enjoying this! What it is proving is that people do not understand computers and will lash out at anyone. You should see some of the comments where profanities are publicly made that I have banned. Bing is actually an excellent search engine. Just a sad world we’re in. Again, Thank You!

      Rick

  30. Carol says:

    Bing showed up on my computer and I want it removed. Microsoft has no right to put things on my computer without asking. I’ve had too much of the Bully Microsoft. I’m done with them. I just bought a Mac.

  31. Vinod says:

    Bing has just appeared on my PC and it is cause for concern that that this was done without my approval.

    Bing I hope you will get out yourself without the need of a BIG BANG.To HELL WITH YOU.

  32. Vinodmalh says:

    Bing has appeared on my Laptop without my approval and Microsoft should remove it as I am quite happy with Google and I will never subscribe to it.

  33. Claudette says:

    I had livesearch on my Mogul phone. Loved it and used it all the time. Then I started getting the Bing Update notice everytime I logged into Livesearch so finally so okay to the update. Now everytime I try to use LiveSearch, I get the message that my phone doesn’t support Bing and the program locks up until I do a soft re-set. I have tried to figure out how to delete the update off my phone but can’t. I miss the old Live Search that I used so much.

  34. Ramblinrick says:

    John,

    I wish I could remove bing, but I can’t. You need to contact Microsoft. Personally, I like bing!

    Rick

  35. Pauline Hardy says:

    Please cancel Bing I did noyt ask for it, You have no rigfht to chjBGE MY vERISON PAGE.

  36. Pauline Hardy says:

    o.k thanks

  37. anne says:

    i try to get into my mail going thru firefox i click on a message the message flashes then a bing sign shows up how do i fix this?
    it is so annoying i want my mail back the way it worked before
    very dissatisfied with bing

  38. cathi bohm says:

    i want you to respond to this asap i want you to tell me step by step to get of you you hijacked my computer without my permission this is against the law you big bully!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  39. cathi bohm says:

    i want to get rid of bing answer me now!!!!!!!!!!

  40. don says:

    i dont want bing .i did not ask for it who the hell do you think you are.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Don,

      If you knew anything about computers you should know that this is an article about Bing (when it first came out). Microsoft made Bing and in my opinion, they did a fantastic job at it. I have nothing to do with how it shows up on your computer. If I did, I would be a very wealthy person.

      Rick

  41. Chula Jessup-Al-Diasty says:

    PLEASE…PLEASE……CANCEL this BING account.

  42. Chula Jessup-Al-Diasty says:

    cance Bing account. I NEVER requested it.
    As another person commented” YOU HAVE HIJACKED
    MY COMPUTER.”…You have done the same to me.
    Do this…..ASAP.
    Chula Jessup-Al-Diasty

  43. Don’t want the bing toolbar, never added it, can’t get rid of if it!!!! Don’t like hackers!!!! I thought that was illegal. I don’t want bing on my computer. I want it completely erased from my files.

  44. koustas says:

    please remove bing i didnt ask for it i want yahoo

  45. Charlee says:

    Like everyone else on here, I got Bing and was not happy about it. Bing is downloaded when you accept the updates from Microsoft. The simple answer to get rid of it is roll back your PC to a date before Bing appeared. Change your update options to notify you when updates are available and NEVER have the bing thing checked. Works for me. Good luck everyone and good riddance Microsoft. BING STINKS!

  46. dorothy leflar says:

    please remove bing. i don’t want it.

  47. dorothy leflar says:

    cancel bing

  48. Ruith Fero says:

    remove bing from my computer, or I’ll make sure I get a new computer without bing. Do it now

  49. Joyce M. Smith says:

    I hate Bing and want it off my computer and that’s all I have to say.

  50. Vicki says:

    Well, I was job searching, and came across order takers at home. I clicked on it, and all types of advertisement stuff popped up. Something asked for a cell phone number. I thought that had something to do with the job search. I didn’t accept a code to my phone, but I thought I was getting some information to download about job searches. My virus detector said site is safe so, I didn’t care too much, but somehow I downloaded bing to my computer. I don’t see any problems yet, but was wondering if it is free. I don’t want anything charged to my cell phone, as it isn’t my plan.

  51. Please remove Bing from my computer I didn’t order it. It comes on automatically and it is an annoyance. Pleas remove.

    John M. Cozean

  52. Tammy says:

    I HATE BING ,how do I get rid of it permanently ????Whenever I compose a letter,I have the BING logo, and “search the web” box on the area in which I type my message. This is very annoying, I want it GONE ASAP, but I can’t seem to delete it

  53. Loretta says:

    Please remove bing from my pc

  54. scott says:

    WHENEVER I OPEN YAHOO BING COMES ALONG FOR THE RIDE .
    IT’S BAD ENOUGH BING IS SCATTERED ALLL OVER MY WINDOWS MENU. I GO TO MANAGE ADD ONS & DELETE,DELETE,DELETE ETC,…I CAN’T STAND IT&IT’S LOGO & IT TAKES UP TOO MUCH SPACE ON MY PC… I’VE GIVEN UP ON REMOVING MSN,BOY THAT WOULD BE A TREAT. MY
    X-MAS WISH,ALL BING & MSN OFF MY PC OR I GET A NEW PC
    A.S.A.P. PLEASEEEEEE!

  55. I do not want Bing as my search place. I want to have google, Plllllease!

  56. marlene bowering says:

    Bing seems to have arrived UNINVITED on my computer
    Please inform me how I can get rid of it

  57. Linda says:

    I did not ask for this thing and I cannot read some of the important information on my screen because the tool bar takes up the top 1/3 of the page how do I get rid for bing?

  58. benevah says:

    Please take this damn bug BING off my computer.If you don’t I will be calling my Attorney and the news media.It is a piece of crap that is invading my freedom!

  59. Jewell Smith says:

    Whoever is responsible for this bing popping up on my computer is very, very unfair. My husband does not like computers at all and says if things like this keeps happening we will get rid of all the electronic devices we have…it is not worth all the frustrtion! We thought computers were suppose to help with communication but when we can’t even get on our regular email…why bother with a computer, we’ll go back to regular line telephone. Jewell Smith-Ukiah,CA

  60. Joan Miles says:

    get this off my computer now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  61. Richard Patrick says:

    Don’t know why Bing appeared and although I can get
    Firefox still, I want Bing removed.

    Please remove at once

  62. Richard Patrick says:

    Don’t know why Bing appeared and although I can get
    Firefox still, I want Bing removed.

    Please remove at once.

    Ok I have already said it so do it please or tell me how I can do it

  63. pat says:

    please take off my screen i dont like it

  64. mike says:

    do not want, lik, or appreciate Bing on my computer!!
    PLEASE REMOVE IMMEDIATELY!!!

  65. jim suarez says:

    please take
    BING off my computer. I did not ask for it so please take it off my screen. I dont want it. THANKS

  66. paula tyler says:

    please take BING off my home pg

  67. Jacqueline says:

    Please take Bing off my computer I DO NOT, DO NOT WANT IT.
    Thank You

  68. jan pufahl says:

    i didn’t ask for bing, please remove it!

  69. janet says:

    cancel bing now!!!!!!

  70. tharvey says:

    I am not gatting my sights I used to get everything is foreign to me I want to go back to where I was if you did it I don’t want it or if I did by accident I want to return to where I was.

  71. Richard P. Delvecchio says:

    Please cancell Bing from My computer. I never requested I Thanks You

  72. robert groven says:

    remove bing i do believe i have a choic and it is not to include bing!!

  73. Bill Swan says:

    I want Bing remove from my computer

  74. mo powers says:

    get bing and free ride games off my computer as search engine. i have been through every thing i can to uninstall/delete and its still comes up when i double click on mozilla. I WANT IT OFF RIGHT NOW!!!!!

  75. karen robson says:

    I WANT BING CANCEL IMMEDIATLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  76. karen robson says:

    I WANT BING CANCEL IMMEDIATLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  77. jim suarez says:

    PLEASE REMOVE bing FROM MY COMPUTER. iTS A PEST. I DID NOT REQUEST NOR WILL I EVER WANT IT.

  78. ROBERT HARTEAU says:

    CANCEL BING-I DID NOT ASK FOR IT&I DO NOT WANT IT!!!

  79. Anya Sing says:

    To Get Rid of that Bing search engine on youre tool bar(which by the way hogged my computer):

    Next to where you type in to the search engine there is a magna fine glass and an arrow, click on the arrow and check Google or Yahoo! (what ever you’re preferred search engine is) and there you go!

    – hope this help (may only work on safari users, not sure)

  80. gary says:

    Like they say …..just appears……over N over again…..worthless ,,as all pc crap is!!!!!!! Keep it off my Mac!!!!!!!!

  81. J Graham says:

    Bing was put onto my computer without my permission, I want it removed now!, it removed my tool bar with everything I use and I cant get it back and also it’s slowed my computer down, and I want it removed now

  82. Lois says:

    I did not order this stupid bing. You just poped up. I don’t want it. Now would you please take it off now? Why did you put it on me? I hate it.

  83. artsy says:

    Bing just showed up on my computer a couple nights ago and it too me a while to recognize it was even there… I did not give any “bing Bar” prompt permission to use it. I do not trust adding new toolbars to my computer. I am always concerned with them being corrupt. The last one I had used a while back put webfetti and comet cursor on my bar so I stay clear away… everybody should be aware that comet cursor and webfetti are full of spyware. Now bing just showed up somehow and I know my my computer prompts me for everything. It seemed like everywhere I went to on the net kept causing my comp to prompt me with microsoft wanting to access the web. Thats how I noticed the bar. When I tried to uninstall it, it DID NOT SAY UNINSTALLING like the rest of the programs do…. it wouldn’t let me uninstall without allowing an unknown publisher to access it on my computer. This worried me bit I tried it a couple of times before letting it do its thing. Then I expected it to say uninstalled but it did NOT say that… just dissapeared. I think there may be a fake bing bar out there or that bing bar is a virus. After removing the program they did not prompt me to restart my computer, and when I tried to get on facebook I think they got my password cause facebook had me sign in 4 times before letting me in. Glitch? Internet can really suck!

  84. dawn creamer says:

    please remove me from bing now

  85. Doug says:

    Bing is now the default on Firefox 4.0.1 and although you can change the default homepage in options to Google, additional windows that you open of Firefox all have that damned bing as default. of course, you can click on home, but it is inconveniently placed on the right of the browser (first I have ever seen) to get back to Google. If Mozilla doesn’t fix this and soon, they will lose a long time user and will pass this on to others. Customer service courses tell you that if a customer goes away they will tell on the average, 3 people; but if dissatisfied, 13.

  86. Millie says:

    please remove bing from my computer .. I don’t want it just like the others .. I don’t like it taking over my computer … take it off now

  87. Virginia Shaw says:

    Please remove ging from my computer. Things like this messes my day up.

  88. HelenWheels says:

    Bing just took over 2 of my browsers when I rebooted. WTF!!! It changed my home page and installed itself as the default browser. I’m using MANY google apps so this is really quite invasive and wrong. How do I fix it???

    • Ramblinrick says:

      HelenWheels,

      You must have downloaded something to make that happen. If you noticed the comments to this article, there are numerous people with the same issue. I am just a blogger that wrote an article about Bing. I did not create Bing; just wrote an article about it. I suggest you contact Microsoft to let them know your concerns. I would be upset to, if it happened to me.

      Rick

      • Jessica says:

        Rick,

        I found these comments quite entertaining. Poor Rick sounds like a broken record. It looks like this article is over 2 years old and yet people are still asking you to remove bing from their computer.

        So since everyone thinks you’re responsible for this, it must mean you’re responsible for other things too. So I will now
        demand that you make it 86 degrees tomorrow with no clouds. I want $1,000,000.00 deposited into my account, and while you’re at it, I would like a manicure/pedicure. Failure to comply will result in me contacting Benevah’s Lawyer and news media (see comment from December 30, 2010).

        P.S. I think Jewel Smith and her husband should invest in 2 cans and a string for better communication.

        Thank you for the entertainment. I still don’t know how to read my email after the removal of bing, but this was worth the search.

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Jessica,

        Thank you, Thank you, Thank you… I would not be a poor blogger if I did own Bing.

        Rick

  89. [...] was one article, back in May of 2009, titled bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine that went viral with the comments to the point that I stopped responding and I’ll tell you [...]

  90. Jessica says:

    I just had to add that today’s temperature happens to be a high of 86, scattered clouds, but outside my window, there isn’t a cloud in sight. I should probably check my bank account next to see if the money’s there to pay for the mani/pedi.

    You must be God.

  91. Steve says:

    Rick,
    Did you really invent Bing? All this time I thought Al Gore did it. No wait, he’s the guy that invented the Internet, right? No. Al Gore invented Global Warming or Climate Change or something. This is all so very confusing.

  92. john placido says:

    All i want to do Is put my bing home page back the way it was before

  93. [...] Rick’s article bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine ran into the same problem – readers who were skimmers or, who had the attention span of a [...]

  94. Alex says:

    I hate working with bing!!!! I have to figure how do get rid of it.

  95. Oleta Wetherell says:

    I want this off my computer can you please take it off

  96. Dolores Piszczatowski says:

    Please give me back my old Home Page and E-Mail

  97. bob bob says:

    I hate this unauthorized bing forcing it’s way on my computer. The person who designed it and fixed it to force it’s self on unsuspecting persons should be fired!!!

  98. Sana says:

    Hi,

    You want free traffic without SEOing your blog?

    Create whatsonmybing.wordpress.com

    Had loads of laughter all the way till the last comment.

    Thumbs Up!!

  99. Roy H. Allen says:

    I want Bing off of my computer sooner than later
    If I ever do want it I will order it

  100. A.C. Grier says:

    I want bing off my computer now. If i ever want it I will order it. A.C. Grier

  101. nancy says:

    get this program out of my computer—-please, how can I along with free ride

  102. delenn13 says:

    OMG…..It amazes me how stupid people can be… Just gonna throw the name “WinPatrol” out there…

    “bada bing, bada boom”…Bing gone.

  103. the most flagrant act was entering bing on my computer without permission and not giving us a chance to refuse it.

  104. M Rowland says:

    I have tried to set bing as my home page it seems goole does not alow

  105. jean says:

    I don’t appreciate Bing being on my comp without requesting if I want it or not…I don’t want to know how to remove……just I don’t like something I don’t ask for
    …please remove

  106. I so damn tired of all thisNew crap that is forced on you without your knowledge and in doing this manages to escalate bad relations with your p/c ’cause you think it’s failing or
    broken but it is actually reconfiguring your p/c against your will. I recently recieved a settlement check from a class action l;awsuit for malicious software taking control of my p/c. Is F***ng Bind Immune to such lawsuits?

    work hard to keep my p/c in shape then Bing f***ks it up! I got five minutes to pull up a file for work and Bing has it locked up for 30 Mins so My filestays home when I go to work with out it so I M not late. I look like the idiot who cant run a computer. It’s Bullshit! How can I kill it without killing myP/C?

  107. PISSED OFF says:

    HOW TO REMOVE BING 100%

  108. donna says:

    bing keeps changing my back drop arg!!!!!!, & why did it just pop up as bing, wtf

  109. Tippo says:

    To get out of this blasted website can I go to a new server and get shut of microsoft as it is a crap server and that is putting it politely
    but I’m thinking something else under my breath.
    bing get lost.

  110. […] in May of 2009 I posted an article titled, “bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine”. My intent of the article was to let people know that Microsoft had created their own version of […]

  111. Derek Houghotn says:

    Like several others, who gave Bing permission to open up on my PC? It has messed up my easy access to Firefox. Now I have the devil in trying to remove it.

  112. […] #3 – (Microsoft Bing Has A NEW Look):  Over 4 years ago I posted an article, “Bing – Microsoft’s New Search Engine”, that received more comments than any other article I ever posted at What’s On My PC. At that […]

    • robertgoard@gmail.com says:

      Bing is a virus. Worst possible search engine. Dangerous, limited, censured results. Adults deserves better.

  113. steepster.com says:

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several
    weeks of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions
    to protect against hackers?

  114. Lee Carter says:

    remove bing from my computer.

  115. robertgoard@gmail.com says:

    BING IS JUST AN UGLY VIRUS!! BEWARE! LIKE WINDOWS 8 IT IS KIDDIE SOFTWARE NOT APPROPRIATE FOR ADULTS. OR SERIOUS USE. TYPE GOOGLE.COM IN THE WINDOW AT THE TOP OF YOUR SCREEN. IT WILL TAKE YOU TO GOOGLE. YOU CAN RESET IT TO BE YOUR HOME PAGE BUT BECAUSE BING IS A VIRUS YOU MAY NEED TO REPEAT THAT. !!!!

  116. Joyce Schmidt says:

    Evey one should maybe consider a law suit againt Microsoft. I hate this bing crap and it is againt my freedom of choice to have it thrust up one me, I did not ask for it and I do not intend to keep having it intrude on my space, and if it take a law suit and much publicity about this, OH WELL..

  117. Melvyn Jones says:

    when i start my laptop there is a message of bing on the first page i want to now how to delete it. when i press the button to start it BING iis on it how do i delete it of the page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

