Motorola SBG901 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

Recently I moved from one residence to another and was required to drop my DSL internet provider for a Cable internet provider.  As a result I was on the hunt for a cable modem and wireless router.  Immediately, what I had in mind, was an all-in-one unit with both capabilities; however, not really being too up on what was out there I was not even sure such a beast existed. I did know, from my past experience, and you have heard me say it before, “if you can think of it, someone has done it”.

What I found and settled for was the Motorola SBG901 All-In-One integrated SURFboard Gateway with built in advanced wireless networking and security capabilities.

image

Motorola’s SBG901 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway is the perfect networking solution for the home, home office, or small business. It combines an industry-leading DOCSIS® 2.0 cable modem, an advanced firewall, and an 802.11b/g wireless access point – all in a stylish enclosure for the sophisticated consumer. The SBG901 allows users to create a custom LAN to share a single broadband connection, files, printers, and peripherals without wires.

The SBG901, after being recognized by the cable provider network,, worked right out of the box. I was on the internet in no time.

image

The unit is packaged with an installation CD, but (again from past experience) I opted to ditch the Installation Assistant CD. The CD contains an installation wizard and wireless security setup.  Really, I found neither was required.  The SBG901 was already setup for wireless networking connectivity with WPA encryption (wifi protected access) enabled. In other words, the SBG901 was seen by my Netbook; and all was required was for me to enter the already assigned WPA encryption key on the Netbook side. One thing I did do right away was log into the SBG901’s Configuration manager in my web browser and change the default username and password to further enhance the security of my network.  Finding this information can be a challenge for the everyday user.  To accomplish this change:

  1. Open your web browser and type 192.168.0.1 and hit “Enter”
  2. Type “admin” in lowercase in the username field.
  3. Type “motorola” in lowercase in the password field.
  4. Click on the “Security” button at the left side of the Configuration Manager and make the necessary changes.  Make sure you keep these changes in a safe place.

Overall, I am finding the SBG901 to be a very nice unit that takes up very little space on the desktop. The unit is 5 3/4 “ x 5”.  The unit can be either stood up, placed flat or wall mounted.  I am also very pleased with the range of the wireless connectivity, which has worked flawlessly within any area of my home.

I opted to do a post on the SBG901 in the event someone out there is looking for a combo unit.  Cost for SBG901, at the time of my purchase, was $129.99 at Best Buy.

Easy to setup and use:

  • Always on, always connected and always ready
  • Includes an Installation Assistant CD, Wireless security set up, an optional user-friendly installation wizard, and multi-lingual product documents
  • Easy connection, wireless pairing button
  • Plug-and-play installation
  • Supports standard internet software
  • Front panel LEDs indicate status and simplify troubleshooting

Efficient:

  • Stylish and space saving enclosure
  • The mobility of a wireless LAN and the simplicity of “no new wire” technology
  • Two diverse internal antennas to enhance wireless connectivity

Versatile and Convenient:

  • DOCSIS® 2.0 certified
  • Interoperable with DOCSIS® 1.1
  • One 10/100 Ethernet (RJ-45) port and auto MDX cross cable detection, enables flexible, high-speed connectivity
  • Integrated 802.11b/g wireless access point
  • Support for up to 16 Service IDs (SIDs) allows for future enhanced features
  • Compatible with Windows®, Macintosh® and Unix® computers
  • Extensible networking: Your customer can network up to 263 desktop computers, laptops and other Ethernet or wireless devices to create a full Class C network
  • Enterprise-capable: Supports VPN pass-through (IPSec, PPTP, L2TP)

Reliable and Secure:

  • Remote configuration and monitoring from the headend using SNMP and TFTP
  • Intuitive, built-in Web-based diagnostics for quick and easy troubleshooting
    • Manage data and wireless networking using a Web-based interface
  • Security features including Wi-Fi Protected Setup™ (WPS)
  • Access and Legacy 64-bit and 128-bit Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) encryption
  • Advanced router with built-in firewall with Stateful Packet Inspection, intrusion detection and Denial of Service attack prevention

ADDENDUM (WHERE TO BUY?): Due to the popularity of this article, many folks have asked where can they get the Motorola SBG901 All-In-One integrated SURFboard Gateway and the answer is [ HERE ] .

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

image

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

99 Responses to Motorola SBG901 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

  1. Kelly says:

    So this can be used in place of Comcast’s modem? No more paying “rent” on their modem? Hmmmmm….sounds good.

  2. Ramblinrick says:

    Kelly,

    Welcome to What’s On My PC… What I would do is contact Comcast Tech Support and ask them if the Motorola Surfboard SBG901 is compatible with their service. It is highly probable that it is compatible; however, this will open up discussion with them to determine what they say. As far as “no rent”; you are absolutely correct!

    Rick

  3. A.Phillips says:

    Thanks for the info. I am going to junk my Dlink/Motorola combo, the reception is terrible. My past experience with comcast was great,I didnot tell them when I switched from their rental to mine, I hooked up the motorola (yard sale for $ 10) worked great. Later I returned their rental, you do have to tell them you have purchased your own modem otherwise they will close your internet account.
    Keep up the good work.

  4. mcpolo says:

    Hi,
    I just purchased this today. Really easy to setup. You just need to call Comcast and let them know you are trying to setup your own modem/router. They will ask you for the HFC MAC ID # and the Model #. You have to call them so they can add that to your account and send the signal. I bought it for $119 at Best Buy.

  5. Kelly says:

    I just contacted Comcast and was told it was unsupported…and could only be used for a “hard” connection. For wireless they said I’d still need a router. Does this make sense?

  6. Ramblinrick says:

    Kelly,

    With the SBG901 you do not need a wireless router. You have your “hard connection” that is the “cable for service” and the “ethernet cable” to the PC… The wireless is built into this unit. Sounds like to me they don’t want to give up their rental unit… Note: See the previous comment from a ComCast User.

    Thanks,

    Rick

    • Mark says:

      I have Comcast too and believe me, you don’t want to get an SBG901 and try to use it on Comcast. Especially if you are running Vista. You will spend the next week pulling your hair out.

  7. Mike says:

    I also had the same problem with Comcast, they said this modem is not supported. I tried technical support but they would not budge. I even tried cloning the MAC address of my previous modem as a naive hack, but no luck.

    Check out http://media2.comcast.net/anon.comcastonline2/support/help/misc/cmclist1.htm for a list of supported modems.

  8. Kelly says:

    It is compatible with Comcast. Although a tech on the online support told me it wasn’t I installed mine last night and called tech support. I’m up and running now!

  9. Ken Sponauer says:

    I bought a SBG901 as part of a comcat offer. I used the Wireless Install CD to set it up and it works fine. Now I have a question for you…..how can it get it configured (return to factory settings)as it was bought so I can try your method?

  10. Alex says:

    Now running the SBG901 with Cox Communications. Cox supposedly can detect a new modem, and automatically sets it up through the network. However, when I first hooked it up, Cox detected the the modem and said that it wasn’t supported (it is). I called Cox, and the customer service rep assured me that the SBG901 is, in fact, supported. I provided her with the model number, customer serial number, and MAC number, and was up and running within a minute or two.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Alex,

      Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Always go to show that you should “believe nothing and verify everything. So far, I am liking the SBG901.

      Rick

    • Mary Ancona says:

      Hi, I need help. Cox came out yesterday, I was not here & boyfriend is clueless regarding computer setup. The tech struggled & called Cox several times and finally got the modem up but he changed the password and I cant reset it. Now I cant use the wireless and Cox is acting like they usually do, sorry we cant help you call Motorola. I cant stand these companies. They charge you a set up fee that is mandatory, send out a tech that doesnt know what he is doing and then they say sorry! Anyone have any ideas? Thanks

  11. Jeff says:

    I bought a motorola surfboard…it’s working with comcast but i have to use the ehternet cord and plug it into my computer.

    How do I make it wireless? I’m easily confused but I’m not getting a wireless signal out of the modem, so I’ve just been living with the connection as is, but wireless would be preferred.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Jeff,

      Thank you for visiting the blog. A couple of questions and a possible solution. Did you purchase the Motorola SBG901? The computer that you are using, does it have a wireless card (built in) or wireless adapter? If the answer is yes to both of those questions, then go to the Motorola website to download the user guide for instructions [ click here ]

      Rick

  12. Kelly says:

    Jeff,
    Is your computer set up for wireless and did you load the software that came with the Motorola Surfboard? Once I did that and called Comcast mine was up and running. If it’s beyond that I can’t help as I, too, am easily confused!
    Kelly

  13. Kenny says:

    I have an SBG901, I’ve had it since November, and it works great, but I can’t figure out how to protect my network from my neighbors jumping on. I have the manual, and I’ve even been to a couple of other websites, but I still can’t exactly figure it out. I successfully (briefly) set the WEP password, but then I couldn’t get my iPhone on the network. Suggestions?

  14. Will says:

    I have an SBG901 with a Win 7 (64-bit) machine. I’ve found that when I come out of sleep mode, many times (not always) I have to re-boot the modem (unplug it for a few seconds) before I can get out to the internet (through Cox Communications). Sometimes I have to re-boot it multiple times. I’m just about ready to give up, but I’m wondering if anybody has any tips. I called Cox and gave them the modem info when I first got the modem. I may call them again to see if they can recommend anything. Most frequently, when the modem is misbehaving, Win 7 says the DNS isn’t working, and Firefox just hangs looking for web sites or says the connection has been reset. Do you frequently use your modem coming out of sleep mode?

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Will,

      No, I do not regularly place my PC that is wired into the modem into sleep mode (very seldom); however, the times that I have I have not experienced the issue you are experiencing. I do however place my wireless netbook into sleep mode very frequently and when it is awakened it immediately sees the modem/router.

      Also, contact Motorola here: http://www.motorola.com/Business/US-EN/Support/Support+Contacts/Online+Support+Request

      Can you hook up another PC (like a laptop) and duplicate the sleep mode process to determine if it occurs with another PC? Just to rule out things…

      Good Luck!

      Rick

    • kensyo says:

      Hi Will,
      I have similar problem as yours. I have been using SBG901 with Comcast for a few weeks. Even worse is that I have multiple smartphones which would hook up to the network. 60% of the time when I come home, the SBG901 will hang then I need to reset it a few times before it works again.

      Do you just lose the IP/web connection or the modem is totally unresponsive?
      My case is that I cant connect to the modem/router through cable or wifi…

      kensyo

      • Doug says:

        I have a similar problem. When I first turn my computer on, no apps can contact the DNS. I try nslookup from the command line and I get no response. Any resolution on this one?

      • Doug says:

        This is strange, but when I logged into the modem, turned NAPT off.. The modem reset, then I had to turn it back on. Oddly enough it started working fine and I haven’t had problems since. Don’t know if it was the reset or what.

    • Doug says:

      As an addendum to my previous post… I also have micro torrent running at startup… it uses a lot of ports and bandwidth. It seems like soon after I quit that program, the DNS seems to come back, although I don’t understand why that should be a problem.

  15. Janet says:

    Hi,

    All the information on this site has been so helpful. Thank you all. I feel less fearful about attempting to get rid of the cable company’s modem/router and buying the Gateway.

    When I was at Best Buy, the salesman tried to sell me their package deal (not the Gateway) and have them install it. This is quite a cost difference (like twice the price).

    When the cable company came for the initial installation, they discovered that both of my computers had to be wireless (a long story). Does that mean when I remove the current equipment and plug everything into the Gateway I will be unable to access the internet? Do I first contact the cable company and give them the information so that they can give me the right signal so that when I connect the Gateway I will be able to set up?

    Thank you.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Janet,

      I would contact your cable company and explain that you are thinking about purchasing the “Motorola SBG901 Surfboard Modem”. Determine if they support that modem. If they do I would get someone to assist you. In my case I plugged my main computer into the modem and then contacted the cable company to provide the MAC Address of the modem. At that point I had internet access. I also currently use a netbook wirelessly to connect to the modem. This modem has wireless capabilities built in. So far since my purchase of this modem, it has performed flawlessly.

      Thank you

  16. Janet says:

    Thank you for the information. I will contact them.

    I believe that with enough information and lots of courage (I am not a puter geek) that even I can do this installation. I think I can, I think I can……

  17. Z F says:

    I didn’t see it posted above, but if it has already been stated I apologize for the redundancy…

    The Motorola SBG901 is now included in Comcast’s list of all currently approved cable modems and EMTA devices:

    http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/DisplayCMDevice.php?sort=1

    Thanks to all for the great feedback and research. I will be buying one.

    Question: Does anyone know if there’s a newer model, similar to this one, which supports DOCSIS 3.0?

    • Mike says:

      It doesn’t appear to be in that list, I live in CO and Comcast told me they don’t support this modem. I tried everything, even cloning the MAC address of my old router, and nothing worked.

      • kensyo says:

        I think Comcast has taken out from the list. When I bought SBG901 a few months ago, it was on the list and the modem downloaded update firmware from comcast after hooked up.

        Have you tried to download the Comcast self-installation program? it is called downloadable_install_wizard.exe
        You can found in some server from comcast…
        it will talk to the switches in comcast and send them your MAC addr…

  18. Gustavo Herman says:

    Hi.

    I changed the admin password and accidentally lost it. I still can use the device from my pc and laptop but I would like to play with the router options. Is there any workaround to reset the password to the factory defaults or recover it?

    Thanks in advance.

  19. Chad says:

    I just got my SBG901. It has factory setting and the default login and password work to get into the modem. I wanted to change the default password. The porblem is when I put in the default password after I click the security tab, it takes me straight to the status page? It wont let me change the password… sigh. Any ideas?

    • Jaenn Bee says:

      I have the same question. I bought this modem thinking it was state of the art, but I’ve lost the password and cannot find any way to reset the modem to factory defaults. Every other modem/wireless router I’ve ever had you could hold a button for a while and it would reset the modem. But this modem stays the same, and nobody knows if it can ever be reset. Otherwise this was a very good modem, but now I may have to return it.

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Jaenn,

        I believe to reset the SBG901 there is a small pinhole at the back of the modem (where the cable connections are) where you push in to do the reset. The modem has to be “on” to do this. Here is a link where there is a screenshot: http://help.cableone.net/HSD/Modem/Wireless/SBG901_Wireless.aspx

        Also, if all else fails, call Motorola support…

        Rick

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Jaenn,

        I researched Motorola at this link [ click here ] for reset instructions.

        As I previously indicated there is a pinhole at the rear of the modem where the cables are located. You will carefully insert the tip of a pen or an unwound paperclip into the reset switch and press on to it. Hold down the Reset switch for 30 seconds and release it.

        NOTE: To assure the gateway factory defaults, you must hold the reset switch for 30 seconds. The indicators are that all LEDs turn off.

        Hope this helps…

        Rick (at What’s On My PC)

  20. neo says:

    first of all if you guys having a speed problem here is the solution. open your browser. and write 192.168.x.x whatever yours is.username admin password motorola. and click wireless tab from menu. you gonna see 54g mode.. when i was configuring my connection i changed that to 54gauto and afterburner tecnology enable.54g protection auto. and leave other settings same. you gonna see your wireless speed gonna improve. if you wanna configure wireless protection get in the primary network you gonna see ssid you can change that name with whatever you want and wpa-psk enabled.you gonna see password there click show and change it.save and click show key again to hide it. and dont forget to enable your ethernet card performance if you connect internet by using wire. usually ethernet card comes configured as 10. you can take it up to 100 from windows settings.

  21. J R Wolansky says:

    I have been using the SBG901 for a couple of months now, and consistently have the following problem:

    we have 4 computers feeding off the wireless capability, and we find that we have to consistently unplug the modem and reboot the computers in order for the wireless signal to work. It is getting very frustrating. We called Motorola, and level 1 support couldn’t figure it out. I am awaiting a call from level 2 support. We tried all the different channels, to no avail

  22. Dav says:

    I installed mine using the enclosed CD and only had to input the passcode from the bottom of the unit. I called my cable provider and am now all hooked and good to go. My question is how can I change the password to allow my guests to get on? When I logged on my XBox I had to enter the WPA-PSK number which is 19 characters long. But when I look at the properties for my new wireless, under the security tab it has the encryption type as “TKIP” and the network security key as only 8 characters and I don’t even know what those are!! Help.

  23. Auston says:

    I have owned this thing for 10 months or so… and i use charter cable internet, i constantly get horrible connections. It worked great when first setup. Now the event log looks like this

    Thu Aug 12 21:08:37 2010 Critical (3) Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging – No Response received – …
    Thu Aug 12 21:02:23 2010 Warning (5) ToD request sent – No Response received
    Thu Aug 12 21:02:23 2010 Critical (3) DHCP FAILED – Requested Info not supported.
    Thu Aug 12 21:02:07 2010 Critical (3) No Ranging Response received – T3 time-out (US 1)
    Thu Aug 12 21:01:55 2010 Notice (6) T4 No Station Maint Timeout – Reinitialize MAC…
    Thu Aug 12 21:01:55 2010 Critical (3) Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Un…
    Thu Aug 12 21:01:26 2010 Critical (3) REG RSP not received

    and every day its the same stuff, happens about once an hour, could it be the modem? or is it charter…. it works so great when it works… =(

    • Thomas says:

      Have you had the issue resolved?
      Is it the modem or the ISP?
      I am having the same problem but the ISP keeps telling it is the modem issue.

  24. Mark says:

    I bought this modem so I don’t have to rent. Problem is I don’t have a pc I just have my iPhone so I am having alot of problems getting the default password. Can anyone help!?!?

  25. richard says:

    can you help me? :( i cant login to my router when i do the page just stays the same and i tried to an ethernet wire

  26. Randy says:

    i have same problem as richard

    )richard says:
    September 23, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    can you help me? :( i cant login to my router when i do the page just stays the same and i tried to an ethernet wire ) same deal every time i try and login it just keeps it on an endless loop to the login page the only option i can think is to reset modem . i supose it couldnt hurt . as far and reseting the password for wirless network u have to change tkip setting in security when u log in if u google the model number and manual u can find it.. but basically once u get into the menue click security on side menu and change the pw and user name to what u want .

  27. Rob says:

    To try and upgrade my Xbox Live gameplay, I upgraded from a Comcast modem I had bought about 3 years ago (I sold it and ended up netting -$10, which isn’t a bad 3 years worth of rent), I think it was the RCA DCMsomething.

    What I’ve noticed, though, is that it’s slowed down both my wired and wireless web surfing. Every 20-30 minutes web pages start loading slowly or don’t load at all. I click refresh a few times and it picks back up where it left off.

    I called comcast and all they could say was “it’s probably the lines, your connection has been uninterrupted.”

    They won’t listen to me when I say “IT WAS FINE BEFORE I SWITCH TO A BETTER MODEM.” I actually bought this modem because Comcast told me a few months ago my modem was whack. Well it wasn’t the modem, it WAS the lines (some bonehead tried to do a favor for my neighbor and get him free cable, it messed up my internet). The lines are FIXED, everything worked FINE until I switched the modem. They want to charge me $50 to have someone come look at the lines again. I can’t tell you how many of them have wanted me to power-cycle the modem. Hello, I’m 26 years old, you might have to remind my grandma of that, but not me.

    Any thoughts? I’m thinking it’s probably something in setup, but I wouldn’t know where to start troubleshooting.

  28. Ishaque Ketekar says:

    Very nice post thanks.

    I have this modem for month now however no luck getting wireless working, tried with lap tops with Vista,CP Os and iphone … seems like failing at authentication level

    Even tried using client software came in CD but it doesnt go past initial setup stage where i enter passcode and then try to connect …

    I have comcast setup and wired connection works fine

    appreciate any pointers

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Ishaque,

      I have had this modem/router for over a year and have never experienced any connectivity issues (wired or wireless). There may be a possiblity that you have a bad modem/router. I would start by contacting Motorola support on this. Also, if I remember correctly, this modem/router was configured with an already set WPA Encryption key. Are you being prompted for the key when you attempt to logon to the modem/router. If so, that key has to be entered exactly…

      Rick

    • Theresa Budke says:

      Often times you must log into the modem
      Click Wirless at the top of the setup page
      under wireless interfaces Motorola
      Wireless – Click Enabled
      Click Apply

      remember you must use the WPA- PSK # – (20 characters long) as your pass key.

  29. KD says:

    I just purchased the SBG901 2 days ago when I hooked up my Charter internet. My 2 XP machines connect easily, but I cannot connect with my Vista laptop. I have seen several issues like this online, but no one has any answers. Any ideas?

    • Ramblinrick says:

      KD,

      If the laptop is using wireless software, provided by the laptop maker to make the connection, instead of the Windows based software; I’ve seen that cause issues. Can you see the SBG901 on the vista machine?

      Rick

      • KD says:

        I can see it. It tries to connect, but then it times out. I removed the HP Wireless Assistant, I never used it anyway. I can connect to it if I disable the WPA-PSK, but I’d rather not. This laptop never has any issues with other networks.

      • Mark says:

        I have the same problem. Motorola says its a driver issue but I have a Netgear at my business and it works fine. I have a Linksys at my girlfriends business and it works fine. I have a Motorola SBG901 at home and it will not work if you try to enable any type of security and I have spent hours with the techs at Motorola and they just keep saying its an Atheros or Vista issue.

    • lbodini says:

      Hi KD, I had the same problem, spoke to comcast who wanted to charge me $50 for wireless helpdesk support, and then spoke to Motorola who was quite helpful in guiding me through some checks and eventually suggested that the wireless lan driver of the vista machine probably needs to be updated. I went to HP’s website, looked for exactly the laptop model I have and downloaded the latest network driver pack for it, installed it and the problem was fixed. hope that works for you.

      • yo says:

        I have the same problem, and follow Ibodini’s advice, I have download the HP latest version of my Atheros driver and I reboot the system and still I cannot connect to the network.
        Any other ideas??

  30. Marty C says:

    I am using the SBG6580 with Cox. When I first tried to install it, spent an hour with a tech who never asked me for my HCF MAC ID. Called Motorola; called Cox again. Gave a new tech the ID and SN and it was working in 5 minutes. I need to use a repeater for signal boost. Does anyone understand the WPA pairing mode? When I turn it on, I can connect using my repeater. If I turn it off, I can’t connect to the repeater. Is there a security issue assoicated with pairing mode being on?

  31. Erin says:

    Hello All –

    So happy to have stumbled upon this website. Thanks for all the great information! Unfortunately, I am a little tech-slow and need some more help… My boyfriend, Dave, and I just moved into a new place and decided to buy the Motorola SURFboard SBG901 instead of leasing Comcast’s modem. Dave went through the setup on his PC and his ethernet connection works perfectly. I went through the setup on my laptop to set up the wireless (I have Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi adaptor, if that means anything?). When running the install wizard that came with the gateway, it gets as far as autoconfiguring my wireless, but then I receive an error message when it tries to test my connection with the modem.

    Further, when I go into my Network and Sharing Center, I can see the network but when I try to connect to it, it will tell me that my settings do not match the network.

    Again, I’m not very tech-savvy, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks!

  32. Janet says:

    I have the SBG901 gateway. The wireless light never turns to green. It just stays amber. I have installed several ways but the light never turns to green as the User Manual indicates. Is this a problem with the modem. If so, I need to return and get another unit.

  33. Carolyn White says:

    We purchased this modem and a comcast technician came out and set it up when they turned on the internet service. It worked great for 2 days. Then it died. I worked with Comcast for 2 days. I got it to work intermittedly – first with an ethernet connection and then later with both. Each morning everything had to be reset and lots of struggles to get it to work again. Now Comcast can’t see the modem at all to try to reset it on their end again.
    The comcast technician can’t work on now since we own it.
    We want to return the modem and get the money back since we are going to rent a modem from them.
    I can’t find out how to return the modem to Motorola. There is no phone number on any of the information included with the modem and the user guide says if you have problems call your IP provider.
    Who knows how to return this thing? It was purchased through Amazon.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Carolyn,

      Too bad that modem did not work for you… Most likely if you purchased it through Amazon it was through a third party vendor. Check your receipt to determine what company processed the purchase or go back to where you purchased it through Amazon to locate the company. I use Amazon all of the time and the majority of the vendors will work with you on these things.

      Rick

  34. linda vandercook says:

    Thank you so much for this post. It saved me tons of research and frustration.

  35. Ron Tingle says:

    Help: Replacing Surfboard 5101N + Linksys wireless Router with one device: SBG901. Installed and wireless router to laptops works great.

    Salesman assured me I could use the “wired” port on the new SBG901 for my wired network laser printer. Would behave just as it did when using the hard-wired port on my Linksys router.

    I cannot make this work, and I’m not a dummy. Charter won’t help, HP won’t help. Any ideas — or did I purchase the wrong product for what I need? HELP. . .

  36. Michelle says:

    Does anyone have any insight on the most efficient wireless repeater to use with the motorola SBG6580 Surfboard? I live in a brick house with old wiring, so the signal is sketchy in all but the three closest rooms to the router itself. I’d appreciate a little help if anyone has tried repeating the signal to widen the range. Thanks!

  37. Jenell says:

    Oh my gosh! The 192.168.0.1 helped me so much :) For some reason my desktop was not allowing me to connect to some internet sites, including the manufacture site.. But now I was able to fix it through that site. This was very fast and useful information. Thanks! :)

  38. windows 7 serial says:

    I just like the helpful information you provide to your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right here frequently. I am relatively certain I will be told lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  39. shawn says:

    yes i have a motorola f6e92 cable modem router/modem and i cannot get my iphone connected….. any help please

  40. Rob says:

    I recently purchased the device and the connectivity and speed is under preforming (slow and loses connection) …Can and will adding a wireless router improve connectivity and speed for the device wireless assessing the modem ?

  41. akabanrosh says:

    Don’t buy this. I bought SBG901 in April 2011. For about 3 months it worked OK, but then started rebooting several times a day on its own. I contacted Motorola and they said it is because the signal strength from the ISP (Comcast in my case) is not within allowed limits and the device is designed to reboot itself under these circumstances.

    I contacted Comcast and they say that there is no problem on their side. I am in a limbo now. My neighbour who also has Comcast, is using a separate cable modem and router instead of the combo (like SBG901) and is not facing any problems.I am plannung to go the same route.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      akabanrosh,

      Since my posting of this article back in January of 2010 I have had this combo modem/router. You will notice in another post where I mention I have never had a problem. I truly do think it is a Comcast issue, as Motorola has indicated. Many ISP’s want you to buy their modems…

      Rick

      • Kelly says:

        I have Comcast and have this unit for several years and have never had a problem! Even recently reset it after acquiring new wireless devices and forgetting my old password.

        VERY happy with it!

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Kelly,

        I completely forgot you ended up with one of these. I too have been very happy with the Motorola.

        Rick

  42. Tyler says:

    I’ve had this router for about 4 months now, and am very unhappy with it. It was a good purchase at first, but am now having issues with it losing signal and restarting itself, causing me to lose my connection when playing a game, streaming a movie, anything.
    Comcast came out and the lines looked good, so they think it’s the modem. I’m really not sure where to go from here, as I blew 120$ on this piece of shit 4 months ago and now its having intermittent problems and having to reboot itself probably 5-6 times a day.
    I also noticed that Best Buy doesn’t carry this model anymore. How convenient.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Tyler,

      I’ve had the SBG901 for over 2 years and it has not let me down; not even one time. I am sorry to hear this has happened.

      Rick

      • akabanrosh says:

        I also have had this for about 10 months now. Comcast is my ISP and I live in Southern NJ. Initially it was OK, but for the past 4 months it reboots several times a day. I have spent several hours on support line with Comcast and Motorola TO NO AVAIL WITH EACH BLAMING THE OTHER. Motorola says that the issue is Downstream power levels for my cable connection even though within limits is on the higher side (allowed -15 to +15 dBmV and mine was +8.9 dBmV)

        Finally Comcast techs came down and found some faulty connections, put in a attenuator to lower the power levels and now it was +2.9 dBmV. However, it still reboots several times a day.

        A word of advice. Avoid this if you ISP is Comcast.

        Would love to hear from others with a different ISP.

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Akabanrosh,

        I have had the SB901 for over 2 years and have never had an issue (knock on wood) with the SBG901 or my ISP (which is my local cable company — not Comcast). After reading the comments here, it is quite apparent that there is something not compatible when Comcast is the ISP (in different areas of the US). Thank you for providing my readers here your comments.

        Rick @ What’s On MY PC

    • Kevin says:

      I am using sbg901 now, also have the same problem as you in Comcast network. It will reboot several times a day, mostly when we are at home using internet at night.

      Just don’t know how to ask Comcast to send somebody out to check the every connectors?

      • Rob says:

        Device is trash! I am returning it to Walmart. Constantly times out and connectivity is undependable! I rather have the extra hardware and pay more $ to have a wired router and modem because this device is slow and trash!

  43. bqartu says:

    hi. i forget my modem interface username-password. how can i reset it?

  44. Chris says:

    HI there. Just purchased the SBG901 and today called comcast and they helped configure it on my desktop. However I can’t figure out the wireless. When I tried to set up the wireless from my desktop (installation desk was in desktop) the installation wizard indicated it couldn’t find a wireless connection on my desktop. Is that necessary or can I just put the installation disk in my lap top and set up the wireless that way? The comcast rep told me to call motorola but they are not open weekends. will try tomorrow. The comcast rep had told me to type in the 192.68… number and then the 10.0.0.1 number but that didn’s take on my desktop. Is this a problem or will it work on my laptop? Anyone know? Thanks. I’m not too tech savvy, but follow dierections well enough…

    • akabanrosh says:

      My advice. Return this. But if you still want to keep it, follow these steps.

      Get on the computer that is physically connected to SBG901.
      Open Internet Explorer and in the address bar type 192.168.0.1,
      In the login page, type ‘admin’ in the user and ‘motorola’ in the password fields.

      Click on the Wireless link and verify if it is enabled.

      link fo rthe SBG901 manual is here:

      http://help.cableone.net/HSD/Modem/PDF/SBG901_User_Guide.pdf

  45. Vicky says:

    Do you know how to hide the SBG901 SSID from the Available Wireless Networkings list? Not to display the SSID publicly?

  46. victor says:

    how do i change my password?

  47. Cheese18 says:

    anyone use this modem with bittorrent? I used to have a sb501 with a wrtg router and it worked fine. I got recently upgraded to this SB901 and cannot figure this thing out. I opened the ports to my computer and get the green light but the speeds are extremely low and inconsistent. Never had experience with this router/modem combo before.

  48. Mynameis says:

    PLEASE BEFORE YOU BUY.

    This starts of as a great modem & router in 1 but it has many technical issues. Dropping internet signal is common, if fact on the tech support website, there are many customs with the same problem. I have tried everything they suggested, and in the end they blame Comcast for the connection issues. I had Comcast check the signal on more then 1 occasion & both times signal was great. When the signal drops the modem’s lights are all green (working well). I have given up on this modem & decided to invested in a more reliable one.

  49. Mark says:

    Well, I bought one too and after 5 calls to my ISP they suggested it was a Motorola thing. After 5 calls to tech, they said it was a atheros driver problem. I’ve had it for 6 months, if you don’t mind having an open network where anyone can connect, it works pretty good.

  50. Patrick R says:

    I have one major problem with this Modem/WIFI Router. I cannot “reserve IP addresses” to be used by machine I assign IP addresses statically. On the DHCP configuration page, it does not give that option.

    Anyone encountered this, or has a work around?

  51. Thank you so much for your time invested.
    dino

  52. Ruthie says:

    I have the Motorola sbg6580 and I cant login with admin and motorola at all. it goes to the log in page and when I input the username and password it say either the password or username in incorrect. Does any one no what I can do?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

