FREE Computer Troubleshooting Checklist

image Here is a What’s On My PC web clip featuring an article from the  New York Computer Help Blog that I feel would be of great value to my readers in the event they experience the inevitable. This clip is worth its’ weight in gold and is worth saving or holding onto…  I applaud the New Your Computer Help Blog for posting this “easy to understand” troubleshooting checklist and encourage the What’s On My PC readers to pay them a visit.

webclip

A “What’s On My PC…” Web Clip!

How-to fix computer hardware; symptoms and troubleshooting help – computer hardware repair tip

January 12, 2010
New York Computer Help Blog

image

Computers are a work of science.  Since all computers require the same basic hardware and connections to be operational, any computer issues are “Elementary, my Dear Watson.”  – New York Computer Help Blog

  1. Symptom: No sound, no lights when turning on -> Check: power supply, motherboard, CPU
  2. Symptom: Continuous beeps when turning on -> Check: keyboard, video card, memory, motherboard
  3. Symptom: Screen is blank upon boot up -> Check: power on monitor, video card connection
  4. Symptom: Operating system doesn’t load -> Check: hard drive, memory, motherboard, CPU
  5. Symptom: Screeching noise -> Check: power supply, CPU, hard drive, floppy drive, speakers
  6. Symptom: Shuts off by itself -> Check: BIOS power features, power supply, fans, dust
  7. Symptom: Operating system freezes -> Check: Windows; probably not a hardware issue

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

image

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

12 Responses to FREE Computer Troubleshooting Checklist

  1. Thanks for this Rick. You just give me another blog to bookmark for my daily read.

  2. Ramblinrick says:

    Arafat,

    Their blog is another good one to keep around. I have a bunch more I will be adding to the Launch Pad very soon… I am always open to any good tech sites out there that is not on the Launch Pad…

    Rick

  3. techpaul says:

    Symptom: Screeching noise -> Check: ____________ (insert punchline here)(poss answrs: sphincter, hearing aid, junior’s diaper..)
    Sorry ’bout that, Rick. Feeling a bit frisky and giddy today – the sun has come out. Yay!

    It’s amazing the amount of free education that is available online, isn’t it?

    • Ramblinrick says:

      TechPaul,

      Laughing my rear end off here… It has been a bit cloudy there from what I understand. The “Sun Light” will cause giddiness, especially when you have not seen it for awhile. It’s like the groundhog seeing its’ shadow… Did you see your shadow?

      Rick

      • techpaul says:

        Rick,
        Yes, for several consecutive hours we had blue skies and sunshine. A pleasant respite from the rain (..was beginning to think I was in Oregon there for a minute).
        From what people tell me, weather has a habit of traveling Eastward, so..

  4. pochp says:

    Hey Rick,
    Can I repost this great piece someday?

  5. Samantha says:

    Nice blog, i like it, its informative,
    i will visit his blog more often.
    i like your article specially about
    FREE Computer Troubleshooting Checklist

    Cheers

  6. Tuka says:

    Thanks for the info. Useful!

  7. Zach says:

    Hey guys I’m looking for some help. I’m not very literate with computers and my pc has gotten an annoying virus. So far the overall performance of my computer hasn’t been affected but, I can’t do a system restore or run any kind of software to remove the problem. The thing that keeps me from all of this is called security tool. It pops up saying security tool system alert and that’s when all my efforts are stoped. I have two choices when security tool aletrs me continue unprotegted or purchase security tool. Much thatnks if you can help me.

  8. […] What’s On My PC FREE Computer Troubleshooting Checklist […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

