Be More Comfortable and Productive While Using Your Computer

Computers are wonderful innovations, but did you know that using the computer improperly can actually cause you injury; that use of a keyboard or mouse has been linked to serious injuries or disorders; and, that improper body positioning while using the computer can lead to musculoskeletal disorders (such as carpal tunnel syndrome, tendonitis, tenosynovitis, and other conditions). Really, the factors that lead to these injuries boils down to improper personal habits that can easily be prevented by changing and developing proper personal habits.

To help get us on the right track, Microsoft has published and provided for FREE a Healthy Computing Guide that explains how these types of injuries can occur while using the computer, and the solutions to prevent these injuries.  The guide is not lengthy at all and is a benefit to us all. If you are managing a network, this is an excellent “proactive” resource to circulate amongst your users. You can get it [HERE] .

image

This guide is designed to help you be more comfortable and productive while using your computer. It may also help you reduce your risk of experiencing painful and disabling injuries or disorders described in the following Health Warning.

Update: The author of 404 Tech Support has provided another great resource on this topic called Comfortable Computing Initiative (Interactive Tools to precisely assist us with creating and planning our workspace).  I also encourage you to checkout this article Ergonomics At the Office.

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

image

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

13 Responses to Be More Comfortable and Productive While Using Your Computer

  1. Jason H says:

    I’m a fan of this site, the ergonomic workspace planner:

    http://www.computingcomfort.org/create2.asp

    It’s nice to know how far off my desk is at work from being healthy for me… :)

    http://www.404techsupport.com/2009/06/ergonomics-at-the-office/

  2. Bill Mullins says:

    Rick,

    Typically, when one reads this type of article the response is something like “Sure, but it’ll never happen to me”.

    But let me tell you, I’m now in the fourth week of dealing with a slipped disk caused primarily by my poor posture at the keyboard.

    The pain was so intense initially, that I couldn’t even sit at my desk, so my productivity hit an all time low.

    You’re article is very timely, and I hope your readers take it to heart.

    Simple precautions can go a long way in ensuring computer related injuries can be preempted.

    Bill

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Bill,

      I attribute much of my problems to poor posture when working on my PC. Another thing that is definitely not good, is eating while working on the PC. I have found when I do long computer sessions I will snack more. Hmmm… Maybe it is time we all go back to pencil and paper : ) Glad to see you back in the saddle.

      Rick

  3. [...] Monday, April 19, 2010 11:47 pm SMallard Leave a comment Go to comments Rick (Whatsonmypc) once again has produced a super article on computer comfort and the effects of not using your [...]

  4. kingpin says:

    Hi Rick,
    A truly wonderful post indeed,knew about it but didn’t care about it.Thanks for reminding.Gotta get that chair and table soon before my back breaks.

    @Bill:Nice to see you here.

  5. techpaul says:

    See, there, you tricked me. From the title, and a quick glance at the picture, I thought maybe you had discovered some wonder chair that would give me foot and shoulder massages while I played Half Life 2… maybe brought slices of pizza to me, and blew cool air on me in the summertime.. and you switch up and talk about health (who cares?) and safety (yawn!).

    But I am with Bill on this 100%. For years I sneered at those weirdly shaped keyboards, and mocked those who wore those plastic wrist thingies as weak sisters or Workman’s Comp scammers. Carpal Tunnel? Isn’t that near Mt. Lassen?
    Well, even if some folks are turning “repetitive stress injury” into a scam industry and quick buck fraud angle, it turns out that it really is real, and it really does hurt and disable. How do I know? Ouch!
    Fortunately, I have eased my way back to normalcy by rearranging things such as chair height and keyboard ’tilt’, implementing a “20 minute rule” (get up and stretch, move, touch toes, etc. every 20 minutes) and really changing my awareness and my attitude.
    It shames me to think how I could have avoided it all by being smarter and acting sooner.. after all, I didn’t have to spend a dime, and the furniture adjustment/rearranging took only a couple of hours all told.
    So who should pay attention to this advice? IMHO, anyone who spends more than a half hour at their keyboard.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      TechPaul,

      Wonder chair… You may be onto something. “The Computer Workstation Wonder Chair”…

      We all take for granted on what we should be doing. Thanks for such a great post!

      Rick

  6. Someday ago I faced a headache problem due to improper use of computer. Now again I’m trying to work as per my old schedule and try to put away my addiction.

  7. Great article! You just inspired me to finally set up the monitor and myself in a correct position. I’m really excited about this. Since I’m a student, this will be a huge help when working. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

