WinMend – FREE File and Folder Hiding Tool

Hiding files and folders in Windows can be easily done and easily undone, when you know how. The problem with the Windows process is that the folder and file hiding process was not designed with security in mind. The only purpose it really serves is to prevent you from deleting system files and folders on the computer that are integral part of the computer’s operation.  I do have to admit, there have been those occasion where I will hide a file at work as a temporary measure to keep prying eyes out; however, anyone with any computer savvy will know how to compromise this.

A solution that I have been playing around with for awhile is a FREE file and folder hiding tool called WinMend.

WinMend

The “cool factors” with this application is that the files and folders can be hidden instantly no matter the size of the data and the files/folders are invisible not only in the computer where the hiding was completed, but in any computer.

WinMend Folder Hidden is a free file/folder hiding tool. While ensuring the absolute system safety, this application can quickly hide files and folders on local partitions and/or on removable devices. The hidden files/folders will be safely hidden whether the drive is accessed in another operating system on the same computer or reinstalled on another computer. You can set a password for this application. Hidden data can be displayed and unhidden only when the user enters the valid password. The data is completely invisible to other programs or on other operating systems. However, please keep in mind that this application is for home use only. It’s not recommended for commercial settings where more strict confidentiality is required. Supports Language: English, French, German, Hungarian, Spanish, Dutch, Arabic, Greek, Korean, Itanlian, Slovak, Vietnames.

I’m pretty certain there is a backdoor way, via the Windows command console, to compromise WinMend; BUT the advantage of hiding a file or folder is that someone is not going to go after something that they don’t know is there the begin with.

If interested, you can get WinMend [ HERE ] .

ADDENDUM

My personal experiment with WinMend on a flash drive:

What draws my attention to apps like this is trying to find a way to make it work from my flash drive.  In other words, can I make it become portable to the point that I can run the app from my flash drive, on any computer (even with admin rights), and hide the files on the flash drive?  For me, here is how I got it to work. I used a little program called “Universal Extractor” to unpack the WinMend install.  I then copied the upacked files over to my flash drive.  The first thing I did was rename the executable file (that starts WinMend) from “folderhidden” to “WinMend” so as not to give any initial clues that I had hid files or folders on the drive. I then ran the “WinMend” file to start WinMend from the flashdrive, setup my password and then used it to hide a folder on the flashdrive.  What I am finding, so far, it that it is working like a charm and on one PC at an off site location, where I do not have Admin rights, WinMend still worked.  Again, you may not have that same result and I am still testing this, but so far it is working and is a fast way to hide my data.  I’m putting this out there in hope that another tech may also try this and give some feedback.

ADDENDUM (7/31/2010)

As with any utility, such as WinMend, ALWAYS maintain a backup of your files…

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

8 Responses to WinMend – FREE File and Folder Hiding Tool

  1. pochp says:

    Rick,
    Great app! I’ve installed many file hiding apps which I don’t use because they’re meticulous. Thanks for your WinMend hiding files is now easy to do.

  2. Ramblinrick says:

    Pochp,

    This app has worked well for me! And, the point you are making is that it is easy to do without a ton of steps.

    Thanks for your comment.

    Rick

    • pochp says:

      We’ve got a problem Rick. The ‘unhide’ button of my Winmend doesn’t work so I can’t reopen my locked files. I probably have copies of those files but of course I want to recover the Winmend files. Do we have a solution?

      I think it’s best you warn others or suspend this post until we solve this to prevent them from having the same problem which might be worse for them.

      • Ramblinrick says:

        Pochp,

        I have been using this app for over 6 months and have not experienced that (on any of my PCs). Go to the website on any of the links above and contact their tech support. Will ramp up more testing here!

        I probably should have stated in the article, “that with any utility app, such as this, always maintain a backup of your files”… Will make an addendum to the article. Sorry you experienced that!

        Rick

  3. poch says:

    Hey Rick, I forgot to tell you to delete my comment if you think it should be. I won’t mind. Thanks.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Poch,

      Nope, your comment and experience is a valued response. This is what blogging is all about and is what makes software better. I depend on people like you that is honest!

      Rick

      • poch says:

        Hey Rick, I’m somewhat glad that my Winmend malfunctioned at once. Because of that, I was forced to restore my files using my primary online backup and I learned that restoring files was really much complicated than backing them up! lol Nothing really beats backing up in exterior disks but of course that’s more expensive.

  4. Vatshal says:

    I forget my password. What should I do 2 get back or create a new password?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

