Over 31,100 Icons for Windows, Mac and Linux

Whenever I want to customize the appearance of my PC, fancy up a document, make a powerpoint slide shine, or enhance a blog article I often use icons. Yes, the same type of icons (but only better) that you see on your computer’s desktop. Icons are excellent graphic enhancements and the professionally crafted icons often are three dimensional in appearance.

image

An excellent resource for icons is the web site Icon Archive. Currently the site boasts an archive of over 31,100 icons in 1097 sets from 260 different authors. The majority of the icons I explored can be used for non-commercial purposes, such as what I mentioned previously. You will find that these icons are of professional quality and there is something there for just about any subject you can think of.

How good are these icons?  Here is an example:

image

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

8 Responses to Over 31,100 Icons for Windows, Mac and Linux

  1. Jason H says:

    Definitely bookmarked. I just happen to be coding a small app today that could use the extra zing of an apt icon.

    Thanks!

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Jason H,

      Any others like this you come across, please let me know. I am always on the hunt for graphics, icons, and backgrounds, etc… for several of my projects.

      Thank you for your support!

      Rick

  2. g says:

    Great site Rick.

  3. Ramblinrick says:

    G,

    Thanks for dropping by… I don’t know how I missed this site before.

    Rick

  4. benjammin1 says:

    I use http://www.iconfinder.com/, which is an icon search engine that has over 176,764 icons. Check it out!
    Ben

  5. [...] an excellent sight that has thousands of icons you can use on your website or in programming.   Link #gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: [...]

  6. [...] Source of High Quality Icons and Icon Tools I recently posted the article, “Over 31,100 Icons for Windows, Mac and Linux” ; which was very well received.  Today I came across another awesome site called SOFTICONS which [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

