What’s On My PC – 2010 in Review

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured imageThe Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 280,000 times in 2010. If it were an exhibit at The Louvre Museum, it would take 12 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 343 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 821 posts. There were 795 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 66mb. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

The busiest month of the year was August  with 30,207 views. The most popular post that month was Locating Your Software License Keys.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were Stumbleupon, Google Reader, Bill Mullin’s Weblog – Tech ThoughtsTech-for Everyone and  Google.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for vista will not boot, firefox incognito, vista service pack 2 problems, windows vista service pack 2 problems, and old record player.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Locating Your Software License Keys July 2010
10 comments and 1 Like on WordPress.com,

2

If you experience Windows Vista Service Pack 2 installation issues… June 2009
62 comments and 1 Like on WordPress.com,

3

How to use a Blackberry Smartphone with a cheap “Pay As You Go” mobile phone plan… March 2009
60 comments

4

Motorola SBG901 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway January 2010
41 comments

5

When Vista will not boot… December 2008
10 comments

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

17 Responses to What’s On My PC – 2010 in Review

  1. WordDreams says:

    I love numbers. Great stuff. I didn’t get the part about “The busiest day of the year was August 10th with 2 views.”

    You do a great job, Rick.

  2. Happy New Year to you and yours, Rick. :-)

  3. techpaul says:

    Well, Rick, this (rather neat-o) report merely is a confirmation of what I decided the first time I came across your writings, a long time ago, now – that you and What’s On My PC rate a WOW! – and I have been a daily reader ever since.

    Your relaxed and friendly writing style; the professional grade advice you provide; the new things you discover online and share with us; the new content daily; etc., all add up – in my mind – to “a real gem” of a website, and of a man.

    I know full well the time and effort it takes to earn the meter’s ‘wow’, and I know full well nobody’s paying you to do it. This article provides me the opportunity to give you a tip of my geek hat, and say to you “Congratulations on a job well done!”.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Paul,

      As I have always said, you have been a mentor to me with blogging. As a matter of fact if you stopped blogging tomorrow, I would probably follow suit. Means that much to me…

      Rick

  4. Rick,
    Congratulations on an excellent year. Those are very nice numbers that reflect the high quality of your blog. Thanks for all you do.
    Best,
    Paul

  5. Congrats! Thank you for letting our institution use your information. Awesome blog!

    Steve
    TTC Shelbyville

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Steve,

      You know, something tells me that you and I are alot alike. TTC Shelbyville is welcome to use anything on this blog, anytime! I am greatly flattered that I have a Tech School on the blog. Hey, if any of the students ever want to post a guest article, send it my way…

      As always, Thank You…

      Rick

  6. Gaia says:

    Crunchy numbers for sure! Great stuff you guys, thanks, looking forward to more this year.

    … and A Happy Great New Year To You All

    Gaia

  7. IzaakMak says:

    Wow! I’ll have to repeat what I just said over at Paul’s place:

    “My goodness, those are some awesome stats my friend. I guess posting stuff that’s actually useful has its rewards. Congratulations!

    ‘…If I only had a brain!’ :-D”

    Congratulations my friend, I hope 2011 treats you even better!

  8. Efreak15 says:

    Don’t you just love wordpress? These stat posts they send to each blog owner are awesomely prepared. Glad your blog is growing so much!

    Ben

    P.S. plug for my year end post:)
    http://awesomewallpapers.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/2010-in-review/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

