How did I miss out on the Google Chrome Web Store?

I currently use Google Chrome as my primary web browser, more or less, to be part of the continued development cycle of this browser and due to the fact, I just plain love it.

I did see recently, on other sites, information in regards to the Google Chrome Web Store and to be honest I set it aside in my mind, without investigating it further. I was also hearing about Google web apps and again, did not make the connection between Google Chrome and Google Web Apps until last night when I opened a new tab in Google Chrome . It was then I noticed an icon for  theWeb Store.  When I clicked on the Web Store icon that I soon realized how the Google Web Apps and Google Chrome Browser work together.

If you are a Google Chrome user, open up new tab, and click on the Web Store or click [ HERE ] .

The Chrome Web Store is an online marketplace where you can discover thousands of apps, extensions and themes for Google Chrome. To start exploring the store, visit chrome.google.com/webstore or click the store icon in Chrome’s New Tab page.

Once I was in the Web Store, I discovered there are many FREE (yes FREE) web apps being developed. What I was trying to figure out, was how did the web apps work with Google Chrome?  The only way to find out was to install one. After completing the installation, I was on my way of looking for and installing others, and soon discovered, that following the installation of these apps, they were instantly accessible by opening up a new tab in Google Chrome.

Web Store

I do believe these web apps are a glimpse of how applications are going to work in the upcoming Google Operating System.

Keep in mind, the Web Store is something new; therefore the selections of apps are limited at this time; HOWEVER, there are some FREE apps in the store worth installing.  Here are BEST FREE APPS I have found worth installing at this time:

Weather Window by Weatherbug (this one is really cool)

Linoit Web Sticky Service (account required with Linoit)

Time Flip

Scratchpad

Quick Note

I am sure there are more apps to be found and I don’t want to spoil the fun (like hunting for Easter Eggs).

Call me a dummy, but I don’t know how I missed the Web Store and the Web Apps that are a direct connection to the Google Chrome Web Browser.  Have to wonder how many other Google Chrome browser users have not put two and two together?

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

5 Responses to How did I miss out on the Google Chrome Web Store?

  1. [...] How did I miss out on the Google Chrome Web Store? [...]

  2. The Google chrome web store was an unfortunate flop. It barely got any activity and now Google has hidden it from view.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Dreamsburned,

      Hmmm… It is showing up in the “Development” versions I am using. Maybe they have temporarily dropped it from the regular versions.

      I can’t imagine this flopping, UNLESS people do not understand it. I still find here in the U.S. that 95 percent of people I help are at a very basic level of computing.

      Thanks for pointing this out.

      Rick

  3. Yuri says:

    “I can’t imagine this flopping, UNLESS people do not understand it”.

    I love Apple products because they make thing simpler to use and show how products must look like, like they knew what people need.

    I’m using Google products like Gmail and Documents but I still can’t understand their stuff like Chrome App Store. These “Applications” are bookmarks with big icons, and say it’s not true. They made them more complicated, instead of just normal toolbar, you must look for right bookmark on new tab page and go to “Apps” (Chrome v. 15).

    I tried to use it, but it’s useless. I have “Apps” folder on toolbar where I have Gmail, Maps and other web applications stored.

    Imagine flopping? Very easy.

  4. [...] How did I miss out on the Google Chrome Web Store? [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

