A Backup Strategy for Your Gmail

image You may have read in the news where some Gmail users found some problem with their Gmail accounts where email messages, labels, themes and other personalized settings suddenly were not present.

When we are at the mercy of online (cloud based) apps, such as Gmail, it is always good to have a backup plan; especially, if the data is important to you.

One thing that I do with all my online email accounts is that I have incoming emails forwarded to another account. For example, in my case, I have Gmail (and my other accounts) configured to forward my incoming email to my inbox.com account. Once I see that my inbox.com account is nearing its’ limit, I will do a cleanup. As a matter of fact, you can setup Gmail to forward to more than one account for a double duty backup.  Now, if you are concerned about backing up email you send, simply get in the habit of sending a “bcc” (blind carbon copy) to the backup account. So far this strategy has worked for me and is very easy to setup.

How to Forward Gmail to Another Email Account Automatically:

Here’s how to forward messages automatically:

  1. Click Settings at the top of any Gmail page, and open the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab.
  2. From the first drop-down menu in the Forwarding section, select ‘Add new email address.’
  3. Enter the email address to which you’d like your messages forwarded.
  4. For your security, we’ll send a verification to that email address.
  5. Open your forwarding email account, and find the confirmation message from the Gmail team.
  6. Click the verification link in that email.
  7. Back in your Gmail account, select the ‘Forward a copy of incoming mail to…’ option and select your forwarding address from the drop-down menu.
  8. Select the action you’d like your messages to take from the drop-down menu. You can choose to keep Gmail’s copy of the message in your inbox, or you can send it automatically to All Mail or Trash.
  9. Click Save Changes.

You also can set up filters to forward messages that meet specific criteria. You can create 20 filters that forward to other addresses. You can maximize your filtered forwarding by combining filters that send to the same address.

StumbleIt

jaanix post to jaanix

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

5 Responses to A Backup Strategy for Your Gmail

  1. [...] Also check out A Backup Strategy for Your Gmail [ HERE ] [...]

  2. g says:

    I caught the gmail fail today on the wire. I treat my gmail like any other host. Use the export feature on google regularly. I back my emails up to my archive hard drives every couple of weeks.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      G,

      Absolutely – Your advice is right on and critical (in my opinion) if your data is important. Gmail has been good to me; however, nothing is fail safe.

      Thanks for commenting…

      Rick

  3. Naomi says:

    Again, thanks for giving so much of yourself to make our computer lives better.

    Today I decided to revisit “A Backup Strategy for Your Gmail” and see if it is something I should look into b/c I already have a non-gmail e-mail account so if gmail problems occur, I have the backup.

    Inbox.com is not accepting new registrations, see below –
    ==========
    Sign Up for Inbox.com Account

    We’re sorry, new registrations will not be available for an extended period of time.

    Inbox.com webmail is currently being prepared for a major system upgrade and therefore all new registrations have been stopped.

    We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Naomi,

      Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention… I will make note of it in the article. Instead of using inbox.com, there are numerous options out there such as yahoo mail, hotmail, etc…

      Very much appreciated.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

