Use The Western Digital My Passport Essential SE Series Portable External Hard Drive to Backup Your Files

I cannot stress the importance of backing up your personal files (such as your documents, pictures, and videos).  A surefire way to get this done is by purchasing an external hard drive; and, to really make it easy I suggest one of the portable external hard drives that you simply plug in the USB port and start using it. The beauty of the portable external hard drive is that you can easily move it from one PC to another; PLUS, you can then store the drive off site (in the event disaster at home would occur). Many of the portable external hard drives are small enough to easily fit in a briefcase and even your pocket.

A good choice to take a look at is the Western Digital My Passport series of drives (e.g. My Passport Essential SE 1 TB USB 3.0/2.0). The key feature with this drive is that it features dual USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 compatibility. If you are not backing up your files, here is a good way to start. Believe me, I have seen people turn ghost white, cry, yell, and stomp when told there files are gone.

Western Digital My Passport Essential SE Series

Bookmark and Share

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

5 Responses to Use The Western Digital My Passport Essential SE Series Portable External Hard Drive to Backup Your Files

  1. Bill Mullins says:

    Rick,

    Yes indeed “I have seen people turn ghost white, cry, yell, and stomp when told there files are gone.”

    Since this is a family friendly site, I won’t repeat the words I’ve heard being yelled in this situation. :)

    Bill

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Bill,

      I have heard those words, as well… I often assist friends and family and I cannot think of one occasion where I walked into their homes to find that they were backing up their files.

      Rick

  2. Rick,

    Great to point out the importance of backing up files. Also, I am a really big fan of Western Digital hard drives. In my opinion, they make some of the best and most reliable hard drives on the market.

    Dominic

  3. marsha says:

    i am totally clueless on how to use this, non computer person here! Do i just plug the cable into the usb port and it works by itself, or do I have to do something to get files backed on it, and how do I know the files actually transferred? My computer crashed, I lost all my documents and photos and Best Buy told me to get a My Passport essential, which i did, it has no manual and the one online says nothing about how to connect it. Please help!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

