A FREE Web Based Screen Recorder

Screencast-O-Matic Recently my brother asked me if I could download  some online video news footage of his son (my nephew) in a featured sporting event? They wanted to archive the video so that his son (my nephew) would have something in the future to show his kids.  Exhausting all of the tricks that I knew for grabbing the download stream of the video, I had to start thinking outside the box, which is something new for me, and focused on not downloading the video, but on a method to capture (or record the video). I knew from experience I could install software to perform this task; however, I did not want to install any software and began to wonder if there were any online web based services out there where I could perform this task. This is when and how I discovered the online web based screen recorder service called Screencast-O-Matic .

Using my web browser and a microphone connected to the computer I used Screencast-O-Matic to record (and capture) the video and audio of the news clip. The end result turned out better than I ever anticipated.

Screencast-O-Matic is a web based screen recorder that can be used in an instance such as I described, but is primarily designed to record your actions on the computer for purposes of “how to” instruction.

There is nothing to install when using Screencast-O-Matic.  Visit the website, click on Start Recording.  The first occasion of using Screencast-O-Matic you will be prompted to download a Java Plugin.

Following the download, the adjustable Screencast-O-Matic capture window, with various controls, will appear on the screen.  The capture window will remain on the window over top of any application you bring up.

image

There is a FREE and PRO version of Screencast-O-Matic .  The FREE version enables you to:

  • Record for a max of 15 minutes
  • FREE Hosting (15 minutes per upload)
  • Upload to YouTube HD
  • Export to MP4, AVI, FLV movie
  • Record web camera

Bookmark and Share

Get Deal of the Day @ Amazon.com
[ CLICK HERE]

Bookmarks4Techs_Blogger2

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

4 Responses to A FREE Web Based Screen Recorder

  1. Jason says:

    Another good, free option is Screenr.

  2. iPod Shuffle Manual says:

    it becomes unresponsive, I cant turn it off! I Can only somehow control my ipod with the remote on my headphones… is there a soulution ?

  3. Ramblinrick says:

    What version of Internet Explorer? Working great from here…

    Thanks,

    Rick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

