A FREE and EASY Offline Browser Utility That I Use To Backup My Web Sites

I currently maintain two public sites and one private site using WordPress.com, Weebly.com and Blogger.com. Each of these services provide a back door option to backup a web site; however, these backup options (with the exception of Weebly) are somewhat proprietary and difficult to follow.

My primary concern with using these FREE services is that you are at the mercy of the provider and could be at risk of waking up one morning to find you are locked out of your site. To help keep my sanity, due to the amount of content I do have posted (on all three sites), I use a FREE utility called HTTrack Website Copier.

HTTrack

HTTrack Website Copier allows you to download a World Wide Web site from the Internet to a local directory, building recursively all directories, getting HTML, images, and other files from the server to your computer. HTTrack arranges the original site’s relative link-structure. Simply open a page of the “mirrored” website in your browser, and you can browse the site from link to link, as if you were viewing it online. HTTrack can also update an existing mirrored site, and resume interrupted downloads. HTTrack is fully configurable, and has an integrated help system.

HTTrack Website Copier may appear to be non-user friendly, when in fact it is actually pretty easy to use. You can get a quick step-by-step rundown on using it [HERE]What I primarily use HTTrack for is to copy the main content of my sites in the event I need to move elsewhere.

GEEK BONUS AREA

Visit Bookmarks4Techs.com

Bookmarks4Techs.com

Online Photo Sharing Vs. Online Photo Storage

Tips for Writing a Headline to Bring in Traffic

How to Back Up Your PC

Rosewill 45 Piece Premium Computer Tool Kit

Rosewill 45 Piece Premium Computer Tool Kit

Subscribe by RSS

Get What's On My PC by Email

Bookmark and Share

[ CLICK HERE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ]

3 Responses to A FREE and EASY Offline Browser Utility That I Use To Backup My Web Sites

  1. techpaul says:

    Howdy, Rick. I hope all is super-groovy w/you and yours!

    I noticed on their download page that they have a “portable” version (aka “no install”) .. is that what you use? (Or, have you tried it?)

    • techpaul says:

      (I know you’re a big fan of ‘portable’)

    • Ramblinrick says:

      TechPaul,

      I use the portable version and yes I have used this for over a year. I like the idea it will pull down my content. I usually run it once a week to capture the most recent posts. On my bookmarks4techs.com site, makes it easy for me to make sure I don’t lose my list of tech sites. Good stuff! Happy Easter…

      Rick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

