Today’s Geek Squeaks – October 22, 2013

Today’s Geek Squeaks’ consists of a NEW Geek Squeaks layout, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Android, a small portable app called Snap2Html (to generate html folder listings), and some of the best selling tablet PCs that are out there!

Geek Squeaks’, features a round-up of tech products, news, software, apps, wallpapers, articles, you name it;  from my favorite tech web sites… I just plain love tech!
 
 

Trying A NEW Look With Geek Squeaks’

image

As I continue to transform the blog toward the Geek Squeaks’ theme, which I am truly enjoying,  I am looking to find the best way to layout and present information to you so that you can quickly get a good idea of what the content of the post is about.

The layout I am experimenting with, starting today, begins with a brief intro summary followed up with brief mini-posts with links to the larger picture. If you subscribe to the blog via email or rss feed, you will generally see the brief intro summary and hopefully that will entice you to visit and explore the site more.


Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Has Gone Mobile

Many of you, I am sure, are aware of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware that is available for your PC. Let it be known that the developers of Malwarebytes has released an Android version for your smartphones and tablets…

image

The world’s most popular anti-malware technology protects your phone or tablet from malware, infected apps, and unauthorized surveillance… GET IT HERE


Snap2HTML

This utility I currently use to take a snapshot of my program files directory and my portable apps directory. I do this in the event of a system crash. I can refer back to this snapshot to see what programs I had installed. I can see where Snap2HTML could be useful in a variety of scenarios.

image

Snap2HTML takes a “snapshot” of folder structures on your harddrive and saves as HTML files. What’s unique about Snap2HTML is that the HTML file uses modern techniques to make it feel more like a “real” application, similar to Windows Explorer, displaying a treeview with folders that you can click to view the files contained within (see example output). There is also a built in file search. Still, everything is contained in a single HTML file that you can easily store or distribute… GET IT HERE


Best Selling Tablets

image

Tablet PCs are where it is at… Desktop sales continue to decline because of these slim, easy to carry and easy to use computer devices. If you do not own a tablet, I encourage you to visit Amazon to explore the best selling tablets; not necessarily to purchase one, but to explore the specs, customer reviews and to learn more about these newest innovations in the world of computing… CHECK IT OUT HERE


Be Sure To Visit Bookmarks4Techs.com

Bookmarks4Techs.com


6 Responses to Today’s Geek Squeaks – October 22, 2013

  1. David Orr says:

    I prefer the the layout of your blog as it is now. I like seeing each entry with image and text in one block. Items I’m interested in I add to my bookmarks (Linkstash) and also add a portion of your review to that bookmark so I know where & why I kept it.

    Your blog is one of my daily stops. Thanks
    David……

    • Ramblinrick says:

      David,

      You made my day… Thank you for the feedback on the blog’s layout. I have been trying different things and I think I found the layout to stick with.

      Very much appreciated!

      Rick

  2. Slartibartfast says:

    Yes, I think the blog layout is very good/useful – functional too. Works nicely with the TitleQ (http://www.rlvision.com/misc/titleq.asp) – which I found thanks to your blog link to Snap2HTML (above), and am trialling now.
    This is a great website by the way. Thanks.

  3. Slartibartfast says:

    Hey, Snap2HTML is rather nifty too, thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

