GEEK SQUEAK: Why You Should Use Bcc In Your Email

Originally posted on What's On My PC:

Bcc = Blind Carbon Copy

Did you know that if you use the Bcc field in your email client to address and send an email to multiple users, the recipients will not see whom you sent the email to?

Many know this trick; however, I still find that many do not. When using the Bccfield to send your emails, the people receiving the email will not know who the other recipients are. It is not a trick of hidden magic. It is that the addresses of the other recipients are simply not shared.

I often receive forwarded chain emails; usually consisting of jokes, humorous movies, prayer requests, etc… Occasionally I will find one of these emails humorous or important enough that I will pass it on; HOWEVER, prior to doing this I perform some housecleaning steps.

I will remove any “FWD” text (usually in the subject line) and will…

View original 231 more words

2 Responses to GEEK SQUEAK: Why You Should Use Bcc In Your Email

  1. I was schooled on bcc by parents early in my teaching career because I’d cc’d all of them. Not the thing to do with privacy-conscious adults.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

