Geek Squeak – I Really Liked 404 Tech Support’s Post on “If everyone were taught troubleshooting…”

I really enjoyed reading the article by Jason Hamilton, at 404 Tech Support, on “If everyone were taught troubleshooting…”.  I think the reason it hit home with me is a recent computer issue I ran into, that literally took me a great while to solve, where numerous causes could have resulted in the effect. It was through the process of deduction, of each of the potential causes, that eventually led me to the obvious that literally was right before my eyes. I can also relate to the article from my past experience as an IT Manager and being in the hot seat.

404 Tech Support by Jason Hamilton
and his example of “cause and effect

If everyone were taught troubleshooting...

Sometimes the job in IT support can feel like you’re the only one that understands the simple concept of cause-and-effect. Sometimes the logical jumps can be made with the information provided by the client. Other times it requires discovering more information through observation or research while in more complicated cases it requires making a logic jump of 2-3 steps like a challenging Sudoku puzzle or thinking ahead in a game of ChessREAD MORE @ 404 Tech Support

Most Recent Articles @ What’s On My PC

One Response to Geek Squeak – I Really Liked 404 Tech Support’s Post on “If everyone were taught troubleshooting…”

  1. It’s at the crux of all my tech classes, starting in kindergarten. Yes they can solve their own problems (much to their parent’s surprise)

Leave a Reply

