Recently Installed This PNY SSD (Solid State Drive) In My Lenovo IdeaCentre Q150 Nettop

You are probably wondering, from he title of this blog post, “What in the world is a Nettop?”. Back on November 5, 2010 I posted an article titled, “My Mini (HTPC) Media Center Setup Featuring Lenovo, LG and Bose” which featured the Lenovo IdeaCentre Q150 Nettop.

A nettop is a very small form factor, inexpensive, low-wattage desktop computer designed for basic tasks such as surfing the Internet, accessing web-based applications, document processing, and audio/video playback. – Wikipedia

The Lenovo Ideacentre Q150 that I purchased in 2010, is a Windows 7 Pro computer that sports an Intel ® Atom Dual Core processor D510 (1.66GHz, 1MB L2 Cache); 2 GB DDR2 667 RAM; 250 GB, 5400 RPM Hard Drive; HDMI NVIDIA ION Graphics Processor with 512MB graphics (with full HD 1080p support), and wireless network ready. I originally had the nettop attached to the rear of my TV, but since then I use it in my garage to primarily surf the internet. Lenovo to this day still serves up the nettop footprint in their latest Q190 models (see here).

Recently I decided to breathe some new life into the nettop and installed a PNY XLR8 SATA 120GB 6Gbps 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive. Using AMOEI Backupper Standard to image the original 250 GB drive I was able to seamlessly move the operating system and data over to the PNY Solid State Drive (which is a smaller drive at a 120 GBs). Some would question, why go from the larger drive to the smaller drive and my answer is that I was seeking a performance upgrade (and not a capacity upgrade). The nettop I use is connected to my home network where I have plenty of space on external drives to manage and store data; plus, I have a ton of online storage. So capacity is not the issue…

After installing the PNY XLR8 SATA 120GB 6Gbps 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive and performing several reboots I immediately noticed a big improvement in boot time, software loads and browser page loads.

If you are looking for an upgrade in an older PC, I highly recommend going with a solid state drive installation and highly recommend the PNY XLR8 SATA 120GB 6Gbps 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive. This drive is at a decent price point at this time and carries with it a 4.5 star customer rating.

PNY XLR8 SATA 120GB 6Gbps 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive

PNY’s lineup of XLR8 SSDs feature a 2.5” SATA III, 6Gbps interface, support 128-bit AES encryption and is powered by the SandForce 2281 controller, offering up to 500MB/s seq. read, 450MB/s seq. write speeds, and 60,000 random read/write IOPS. Manufactured in the USA and designed for long term photo/video storage and home usage such as web browsing, emails, faster operating system and program launching.

Leave a Reply

