Using The Windows Command Line Service Control (SC) to Delete A Windows Service

While reviewing the Windows Event log on my Windows 8.1 computer, an error was being produced each time I booted the computer to indicate that a Windows Service was not loading. After researching the name of the service I found that the service was related to a software application that I had installed; and, then subsequently uninstalled. The service was still hooked into the Windows registry and was not removed during the uninstall process. I needed to find a way to remove the service that I positively knew was not part of the operating system.

To remove the service I had to open the Windows 8 command prompt (run as Administrator) and type the following Service Control (SC) command line syntax:

sc delete <and the name of the service>

NOTE: Do not type or include the characters < or >

Please keep in mind, once you delete the service, it is gone; so, it is important that you know what you are looking for and what you are doing. In my case, as I do in most cases, I use the power of the internet to research issues such as this to ultimately find the solution. In this case, I thought I would share this one with you.

_____________________________

Thank You For Visiting Today

MAKE SURE YOU ALSO VISIT

Bookmarks4Techs  –  GEGeek  –  Downloads
 Tech News  –  Tech Toys  –  Archive (all articles)

Leave A Comment

Leave a Reply

