What is meant by “The Cloud” or “Cloud Computing”

I often have people ask me; “What is the cloud or what is cloud computing?”. This past week at work I received a Google Gram (from Google) in my workplace email that really summed it up very nicely…

cloud image

Cloud Computing” is the use of the internet to run applications or store data. Until recently, most software programs ran on your personal computer. Cloud computing changes that: programs run on a remote server (or servers), accessed by (but not stored on) your computer. Web-based email = cloud computing. Google Apps = cloud computing. Facebook = cloud computing.

In the simplest terms, cloud computing means storing and accessing data and programs over the Internet instead of your computer’s hard drive. The cloud is just a metaphor for the Internet.

_____________________________

Thank You For Visiting Today

MAKE SURE YOU ALSO VISIT

Bookmarks4Techs  –  GEGeek  –  Downloads
 Tech News  –  Tech Toys  –  Archive (all articles)

Leave A Comment

2 Responses to What is meant by “The Cloud” or “Cloud Computing”

  1. Pete says:

    The internet gods want my data, photographs and programs then they will have to pry them from my cold dead hands!

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Pete,

      Feels like Alaska here in Western MD this morning… I agree with your comment. I am very selective of what I put out there. I don’t even have a personal Facebook page. Most folks I find don’t care until it comes back to haunt them and our kids today are being taught it is ok to give away their privacy (and don’t even think twice about it).

      Thanks for commenting… Stay warm up there.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

