Geek Squeaks #2015-3 @ What’s On My PC (Featuring Differences Between Windows 8 and Windows 10 and MORE)

The Differences Between Windows 8 and Windows 10 – I currently have my Windows 8.1 desktop and an older Windows 7 laptop. What surprised me was my Windows 10 upgrade hit the laptop first. I am still waiting for the upgrade for the desktop to kick in. I did complete the upgrade on the laptop and I must say (as first impression) I found Windows 10 quite comfortable to navigate and use; HOWEVER, there are differences between what I was accustomed to in Windows 8 (and Windows 7).

To get a good read on the differences, I suggest you read this article at Tech Advisor — “Windows 8 vs Windows 10 comparison: What’s the difference between Windows 10 and Windows 8? New features in Windows 10, and why you should upgrade from Windows 8 to Windows 10” …

Windows 10

A Windows Tech Toolbox Repair Utility – If you find yourself in a situation where you know that the Windows operating system has been crippled, you may want to give Windows Repair a try. I pretty much has used this as a last resort tool in instances where everything else has failed. I have had good luck with this tool in those instances and yes this program is compatible with Windows 10. I have added this utility to the portable apps swarm on the downloads page.

Bookmark This Online File Converter – I recently needed a quick way to perform a file conversion from one file format to another. Instead of having to find and download software, and factoring in the learning curve, I use an online converter called CloudConvert that supports the conversion between more than 200 different audio, video, document, ebook, archive, image, spreadsheet and presentation formats.

ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – Save money by buying your own cable modem. The Motorola SurfBoard SB6183 is a perfect solution that is compatible with All Major Cable providers like Comcast/Xfinity, Cox, Charter, Time Warner, Mediacom, Bright House…

____________________________

Thank You For Visiting Today

MAKE SURE YOU ALSO VISIT

Bookmarks4Techs  –  GEGeek  –  Downloads
Tech News  –  Tech Toys  –  Archive (of all articles)
– Earth’s Biggest Selection – Deal of the DayLeave A Comment

One Response to Geek Squeaks #2015-3 @ What’s On My PC (Featuring Differences Between Windows 8 and Windows 10 and MORE)

  1. Unless you are paying for very big bandwidth, that Motorola modem Rich is recommending is gross overkill. I only pay for 50Mbps on Time Warner; and, for only $25 (well over a year ago), I was able to buy a Motorola SB6121 which TW accepts for that. It works flawlessly. Indeed, I consistently get a little more than 50Mbps. For higher speeds there remains a big middle ground which is still considerably less expensive than the SB6183.

    (I must admit that the company from which I purchased the SB6121 at that bargain price – ownyourcablemodem.com – seems no longer to be in operation. There have been some serious complaints against them. Apparently I lucked out. Nevertheless, you will still see occasional good markdowns on the SB6121 and similar modems.)

Leave a Reply

