Geek Squeaks #2015-4 @ What’s On My PC (Featuring My Take On Windows 10 and MORE…)

My Take On Windows 10 – I intentionally did not test or try any of the Windows 10 insider beta (test) versions, prior to the public release. I wanted to see what my first impression would be.

My first impression is this — The Windows 10 upgrade installation on my Windows 7 based notebook computer (older Toshiba) took approximately 45 minutes. During the install it booted 3 times and during each time a screen appeared with a circle in the middle of the screen indicating at what point the installation was at. It was a straight forward and nothing fancy installation (which is the way it should be…).

After the install was completed I was taken straight to the desktop and there it was; the new Start Menu. Folks, in comparison to Windows 8; Windows 10 is like a hybrid between Windows 7 and Windows 8. There are some changes, but they are changes for the bettter. I was up and running and navigating around with no issue. This old Toshiba was as if a breath of fresh air had been blown into it. I can’t wait to the complete the installation on my main desktop computer. My final take on this is, if you have opportunity to upgrade to Windows 10, I recommend that you do it.

Microsoft Windows 10

Do This If You Can’t Wait For Your Windows 10 Upgrade – If you are patiently waiting for your upgrade notification (which could take days and even weeks); there is another option. It is the Windows 10 Media Creation Tool.  I am an impatient old geek; therefore, I am using this tool to perform my upgrade. MAKE SURE you read the next paragraph to learn what to expect if you do use the Media Creation Tool.

Using the Media Creation Tool To Upgrade Your Computer From Windows 7 to Windows 10 – I am most certain that these same steps will work to upgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10, as well. Addictive Tips has posted an article that gives a Step By Step Upgrade Process From Windows 7 To Windows 10 …

Nice ASUS Notebook Computer For Back To School – ASUS X550ZA-WB11, 15.6″ FHD (1366768), matte, (Dark Blue), AMD Quad Core A10-7400P 2.5GHz (Turbo up to 3.4GHz), 8GB DDR3L (1600MHz), AMD A76M FCH, AMD Radeon R6, 1TB 5400RPM, 802.11BGN, DL DVDRW/CD-RW, VGA Camera, Windows 8.1 (64bit) — FREE Windows 10 Upgrade…

____________________________

Thank You For Visiting Today

MAKE SURE YOU ALSO VISIT

Bookmarks4Techs  –  GEGeek  –  Downloads
Tech News  –  Tech Toys  –  Archive (of all articles)
– Earth’s Biggest Selection – Deal of the DayLeave A Comment

2 Responses to Geek Squeaks #2015-4 @ What’s On My PC (Featuring My Take On Windows 10 and MORE…)

  1. Eric says:

    Thanks for the review of your Windows 10 installation. Considering the number of different hardware configuration out in the wild, the roll out of Windows 10 has been very smooth.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Eric,

      Yes, I now have it installed on both of my PCs with not one issue. I am very impressed with everything so far.
      Thank you for commenting and supporting my take on Windows 10.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

