Having problems accessing your shares on your Windows 10 PC using SMB (or ES File Explorer)?

ES File Explorer is my favorite Android based file manager. Months ago I ended up uninstalling it from all of my Android devices due to one of the features I used to access the file shares on my local area network (in my home), using a networking protocol called Samba (or SMB),  stopped working. I ended up installing numerous other Android based file managers and experienced the same issue and came to the conclusion that a Windows 10 update broke the network connection. My Android devices could see my computer on the network, but would not allow me to connect. The only Android based file manager that worked was Xplore. After months of using Xplore I decided to revisit ES File Explorer to see if there was a fix and discovered the problem still existed. This time around my gut was telling me it was a Windows 10 network connectivity issue. I was bound and determined to find a solution…

I ended up landing at a site called WindowsTenFORUMS; and, low and behold, after some extensive digging I found a solution to my problem. I know there are numerous other people out there with this same issue and as a result, I decided to post the solution here, as well.

If you go to this LINK and scroll down the page until you see “waddles” (Junior Member), you will see the solution.

For quick reference, the solution is:

Hi There,

I had this problem (and bro’s posts did not help at all), but I discovered you can login using ES File Explorer without much issue, only that your username is not what you would expect.

Instead of using the full e-mail address of your Microsoft account, just use the first five characters. I’m not sure if that’s how it generates the username, but you can check what it exactly is by typing ‘whoami’ in command prompt, and your username will appear after the slash for the domain.

I almost gave up on ES File Explorer after figuring out that this instantly solved my problem.

What “waddles” is saying here is that if you go to the Windows Command Prompt and type in “whoami” you will see your username after the slash. For example, after typing “whoami” at the command prompt, my computer identified me as “asus-pc\rick”.  Now when I log into my PC, using ES File Explorer, via Samba (SMB), I use “rick” as the username; then, I enter my password as I normally would. This worked perfectly…

2 Responses to Having problems accessing your shares on your Windows 10 PC using SMB (or ES File Explorer)?

  1. Rick, I think you may be confused about what Samba is. It is not a protocol. It is an open source implementation of the protocol which Microsoft uses for networking, specifically the SMB/CIFS networking protocol. It runs on Linux systems (and the like). A Linux system can see shares on Windows computers with no additional fuss. However, for a Windows system (or other compatible system like an Android tablet running ES File Explorer) to be able to see shares on a Linux system, you must install the Samba package on that Linux system and explicitly specify your shares from Linux in the configuration GUI for Samba. (I’m familiar with this, as I had a little trouble getting it installed on my Raspberry Pi 2 running Ubuntu Mate.) I don’t think your problem had anything at all to do with Samba. It was just a Windows networking issue, nothing to do with Linux.

    I also use ES File Explorer, but I did not run into the problem because I don’t use my Microsoft login for my Windows 10 computers.

    • Ramblinrick says:

      David,

      Thank you very much for clarifying this. I am not too familiar with Samba. I did some research on this and people are using Samba and SMB in the same breath (as if the same thing). All I know is that I had a heck of time getting ES File Explorer to log in and see my shares on my home network (when using the Microsoft Account log on). If I use a local account to log in, it is not a problem. This is definitely a Windows networking issue that occurred after a Windows update. The problem I experienced, the solution found and the info you have provided has further made this a good post and hopefully useful to toher people. Again, Thanks…

      Rick

Leave a Reply

