How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App

Evernote, OneNote, and SimpleNote are the note-taking apps that we all hear about. I have accounts with all three and have used them extensively; however, I just cannot get settled with any of them. I initially started out with a free Evernote account; then, Evernote ended up limiting what a free user could do. OneNote, great note-taking app; however, I was never completely satisfied with the app, due to its’ slowness (in loading and performing searches). Simplenote, which is text based only (with some markup language) is ok if all you want to do is save text-based notes.

After using all three of these, I kept thinking, there has to be a better way. This is when I came up with the idea of creating and using a Gmail account specifically for note-taking (or note keeping). Think about it. anything you find on the internet can be sent directly to a Gmail account; plus, on my Android phone, I can share (or send) just about anything to a Gmail account (i.e. scanned documents, photos, etc…). Gmail also has the labeling feature built-in where hierarchical note categories can be created (or labeled); plus, it has the ability to create rich text based notes (using the email editor). The real clincher with this is Gmail’s (Google’s) powerful search capabilities, 15GB of storage, and the ability to attach documents using Google Docs. I have been working with this idea and the key point in making it work is that the account should be strictly used for note-taking (or note keeping) purposes only; and, not for daily email purposes. In other words, my Gmail note-taking account is a completely separate account from my main Gmail account.

Below are the steps I took to create (in appearance) my own personal note taking (or note keeping) app using a Gmail account as the container to store stuff (notes, pics, docs, etc…) that are important to me. 

Step 1: Create a new account at Gmail.com. Give the account a name that you will recognize for note-taking purposes.

For example, “johndoe.notebook@gmail.com” …

Step 2: Once the account has been created, one of the first things I did was change the theme so that it stood out. Go to the “cogged gear” icon, at the top right side of the Gmail window and click on “Themes”. The theme I selected was one called “High Contrast”, which gives it the look of a note-taking (or note keeping) app — (see screenshot below).

Step 3: Go to the “cogged gear” icon and click on settings.

Step 4: Under the “General” tab, scroll down and turn the “Conversation View” to “off” and if you like, scroll down to “My Picture” and add a profile picture. In my case, I used a notebook icon. When done, scroll to the bottom and click on “save settings.

Step 5: Go back into the “Settings” and under the “Labels” tab, hide all labels with the exception of the “inbox” and “drafts” labels. Scroll down to the “Create Labels” section. This is where you can create your own label categories. You can always add or remove labels, in the future, from this section.

Step 6: Under the “Inbox” tab go to the categories section and “uncheck” the categories that are shown; then, scroll to the bottom and and click on “save settings”.

Step 7: Go back into the “Settings” and under the “Labs” tab scroll until you see “Preview Pane”. Once found, click on “Enable” to activate the “Preview Pane”; then, scroll down and click on “Save Settings” which will return you to the main Gmail screen.

Step 8: We’re almost done… Now that you have activated the “Preview Pane”, you will see a toggle icon (for the Preview Pane) with a down arrow. Click on the down arrow and select “vertical Split”.

After completing the aforementioned step, your Gmail note-taking app should look something like this:

Click Here For Larger View

When composing a new note, within your Gmail note-taking account, click on “Compose” to draft your note. When finished drafting your note send the note back to yourself. Once it lands in the inbox, assign a label to it. I also use my main everyday Gmail account and my Android Smartphone to send important stuff to my Gmail note-taking account. Another point to make is that I do not move anything from the inbox; unless, I am deleting (or archiving) a note

To draft an existing note, I search for the note, click on “Forward”, make my changes, then forward it back to my Gmail note-taking account; then, I delete the original. When I see that a note has FWD that tells me at one point it has been changed.

In the end, as I continue to work with this, I am finding that the concept of customizing and using a Gmail account as a note-taking app has far exceeded my expectations…

9 Responses to How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App

  1. Very cool. I too have been dissatisfied with OneNote and Evernote, mostly because it takes too long to get started. This looks simple.

    Like

  2. Ramblinrick says:

    Jacqui,

    The more I play around with this, the more I like it. I will be looking at ways to enhance this further. For example, I turned the label back on for “Starred” items. That way, important notes, can be starred and immediately accessed.

    Rick

    Like

  3. […] part of my ongoing project of using a Gmail account to create a customized note-taking app (see full article here) I started exploring ways that I could send stuff to the account (like you can with other […]

    Like

  4. Fish says:

    Isn’t it easier to just use Google Keep? That has been my go to Note taking app for years now and syncs perfectly with your Gmail account and app…

    Like

    • Ramblinrick says:

      Fish,

      I use Google Keep extensively for the small stuff (to do notes, clips off the internet, etc…). My objective with the Gmail account idea (as a note-taking app) is for the more involved stuff. For example, just today I used my phone to scan an important document and then sent it to my Gmail Note Taking account and then filed it away in one of the categories (or labels) I had set up. I am now also using the account to store lengthy instructions I put together for my work. I am in process of purchasing an RV and have included everything involving that project in the account, including pics, docs, web pages, invoices, etc… I am finding more and more to use my Gmail Note Taking account for. I am finding I can do the same type of note taking and note keeping (with my Gmail Note Taking Account) as I can with Evernote or OneNote, and maybe more. I have been really putting this to task and I can tell you, I love it AND it works… Google Keep, Docs and the power of Google’s search is added bonuses to this. Another bonus is that anything I have stored I can easily send it to someone, if necessary. Can’t do that with Keep, Evernote or OneNote without jumping through some hoops.

      Thanks for being curious and offering input…

      Rick

      Like

  5. […] launch and access, via a web link, is a Gmail account that I am using for note taking purposes (see the article on this). After doing some research you can link multiple Gmail accounts together through your main […]

    Like

  6. drhow says:

    I have been using email for notes to myself for years. However, even this separate account approach is more trouble than it is worth to me. I just use a regular account. When the note appears in my inbox, I just drag it to an appropriate folder if it needs keeping.

    Like

  7. […] is sort of a repost of two things that go hand-in-hand… I recently posted the article, “How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App“; AND ALSO, back in December posted the article, “FireShot – Google Chrome Extension […]

    Like

  8. […] I continue to work on my project of How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App, I am sure learning a lot about Gmail. For example, I wanted to know if you can remove the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

