Using The Fireshot Browser Extension To Email Web Content To My Gmail Note Taking Account

This is sort of a repost of two things that go hand-in-hand… I recently posted the article, “How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App“; AND ALSO, back in December posted the article, “FireShot – Google Chrome Extension to Take Screenshots“.

My project of customizing and using a Gmail account solely as a note taking app is working better than I ever anticipated and better than the other note-taking apps I was using (such as Evernote, OneNote, and Simplenote). I don’t see me going back to anything else. Just too many benefits with using the Gmail platform…

One benefit that I am taking advantage of is the FREE version of the Fireshot browser extension which allows you to capture an entire web page, the visible part of a page or a specific part of a page (that you can select). Where the benefit to me with this is that Fireshot has an option where you can use Gmail to send whatever it is that you clipped (in the PDF, PNG or JPEG formats). I prefer the PDF format due that after the conversion is made, the links in the captured page are active. Many of the other note taking apps have browser extensions that allow you to clip web site text, pictures, pages, etc… I can now do the same (and better) by using Fireshot to email web content to my Gmail Note Taking account. Fireshot is available as an extension for Firefox, Chrome, Opera or IE.

SOURCES: Fireshot and How To Use A Gmail Account To Create Your Own Customized Note-Taking App

Leave a Reply

