Are you stuck trying to install the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update?

Yesterday (October 17th) was the rollout date for the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update. Instead of waiting for the update to rollout to my computer, I ended up forcing the install by using the Update Assistant on my laptop to test out the installation experience. In a nutshell, the installation stalled on me on two occasions and spit out an error code (for which I was unable to see what the error code was). In other words, I was stuck.  I ended up going to Google to research further and found this article, “Windows 10 Fall Creators Update common installation problems and fixes” at WindowsCentral.com that helped me punch through the install process. After running the Windows disk cleaning utility (right click start > run > type in: clnmgr > click on “OK”) to delete the temporary install files, I was then successful in completing the installation. In the end, the installation process (which was mostly unattended from my end) took hours.  I then moved to my 2nd computer (desktop) and decided to let the install run during the night. This morning when I checked the desktop, the install process had also failed. I will be working on this computer to narrow down the cause.

From my experience, with these major Windows 10 OS updates, expect problems…


SOURCE: WindowsCentral.com – Windows 10 Fall Creators Update common installation problems and fixes

 

2 Responses to Are you stuck trying to install the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update?

  1. drhow says:

    You have discovered why Microsoft dribbles these new releases out slowly at first. I am happy to wait until they have smoothed out the rough spots. Version 1703 did not get pushed to my Windows 10 Home desktop until a few weeks ago. (No problem. I also have a Windows 10 Pro laptop to which it was pushed fairly early, also with no problem.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

