Here is how to Download Your Entire Facebook History

  1. Open a new tab in your web browser and head to Facebook.com and login.
  2. Click on the downward arrow in the top-right corner and choose Settings, or head to Facebook.com/settings.
  3. At the bottom of the General tab click on “Download a copy of your Facebook data.
  4. Select what you would like to include, or leave everything selected (default) then click Create File.
  5. Wait until your data is ready to download. You will receive a notification when it’s done.
  6. Click on the notification, review the file size, then click Download.
  7. Enter your account password to confirm your identity, then wait for the download to complete.

Source: MakeUseOf

How can I tell if my Facebook information was shared with Cambridge Analytica?

How can I tell if my info was shared with Cambridge Analytica?

Facebook has a page set up to help you determine if your Facebook data was compromised by Cambridge Analytica (which was used to influence people during the last Presidential Election). I encourage all Facebook users to do this… VERY IMPORTANT!

Click the source link below to go directly to the Facebook Help Center: 

Source: How can I tell if my information was shared with Cambridge Analytica? | Facebook Help Center

Download Your Facebook Data (you will be shocked and surprised)

In light of the Cambridge Analytica scandal, where an app developer was able to sell your personal Facebook data to a research firm that helped Donald Trump win the election, Facebook has (and still is) taking some major league heat on this; and, rightfully so. As a result of this scandal, Facebook has vowed to become more transparent on how they use our personal information. Following the news on this, Facebook users became very concerned and wanted to know how to download their Facebook data.

With that out of the way, how do I download my data from Facebook?

The easiest way is to click the link below or enter the following web address in your browser:

https://www.facebook.com/settings

Note: You can also get to the settings by clicking on the small “downward facing triangle or arrow”, at the top right corner, on any of your facebook pages (after you log in).

Then, simply click on “Download a copy of your Facebook data”… After which, the following will appear where you then click on “Start My Archive”.

After you click on “Start My Archive” you will be prompted to enter your Facebook password.

Once the password is accepted, you will receive a notice on the screen advising that an email will be sent to the email address you registered with Facebook with instructions to complete the download.

When you receive the email, you can click on a link (in the email) that will take you back to the “Download Archive” page, where you will once again click on the “Download Archive” button, enter your Facebook Password, at which point you will be prompted to save the download.

The downloaded data will be contained within a “zip” file. A zip file is one file that contains many files and you should be able to open the “zip file” by double clicking on it, to see the contents. If you fail to download the data within a few day, you will have to repeat this process. The file size for the data will be large and may take time, so be patient.

Once the data is downloaded, open the file and click on the file named “index” to navigate the downloaded data. You will be shocked and surprised at everything that has been collected.

Maybe, “Big Brother” is watching…

 

 

How can I reset all “PAST” public posts on Facebook to be friends-only posts?

I am big on privacy and security and never wanted anything to to with Facebook; HOWEVER, this past year I caved in. I am actually enjoying Facebook and have used the site to promote the blog (click here) and another public Facebook page I am experimenting with, called “Protection of Our First Amendment Rights – The Fake News Daily“. Again, I am big on privacy and security; AND, one downfall with Facebook is navigating the menus to turn privacy and security features “on and off”.

For example, after seeing how my private Facebook page looked on the public side, I noticed there were posts on the public page that I did not want there. As a matter of fact, I didn’t want any of my private (friends only) posts on the public page and commenced researching “How can I reset all “PAST” public posts on Facebook to be friends-only posts?

Here is the instructions I found and decided to post them here on the blog for others:

  1. Open up your Facebook page
  2. Click on the small triange in the upper right corner of the blue bar (at the top of the window)
  3. On the menu click on “Settings”
  4. On the left sidebar, click on “Privacy”
  5. When the privacy window opens, on the right side, click on “Limit Past Posts” (to expand that section).
  6. Click on “Limit Old Posts” (click on graphic below to see example)
  7. Click on “Confirm” (see graphic further below)

 

A New Facebook Feature Will Alert You When Your Face Shows Up In A Photo

Plucked this news from the Android Police that all you Facebook users need to know about.

facebook-icon-web

Using facial recognition technology, Facebook can alert you to any photos in which you’re visible regardless of whether or not you’ve been tagged. Soon, the Facebook app will have an opt-in toggle for the facial recognition alert. When enabled, notifications appear in your account when Facebook thinks it spotted you in a photo. 

SOURCE: Android Police 

Geek Squeak: New Facebook Feature To Snooze A Friend

Tired of seeing my political posts on your timeline? You don’t have to “unfriend or unfollow” me, just put me in snooze. I truly hope you don’t do that because I do look for news that I think you “need to know” and is factual; however, if you must, just put me to sleep (in Facebook Snooze).

With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time… READ MORE

SOURCE: Facebook Newsroom

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑