Malwarebytes for Chromebook is an Android app engineered specifically to protect your Chromebook

Own a Chromebook? Here is a version of Malwarebytes that has been engineered to work on your Chromebook. In order to get this, your Chromebook must be able to run Android apps so that you can download and install from the Google Play Store. Malwarebytes for Chromebook is an Android app engineered specifically to protect your Chromebook. Google Play automatically detect your Chromebook and will install the appropriate Malwarebytes product. I am currently running this (and testing) on my Chromebook… I am a firm supporter of Malwarebytes on all platforms (Windows, Android, etc…).

Screenshot Image

Malwarebytes for Android or Malwarebytes for Chromebook free download comes for a limited time with an extended 90-day trial of the Premium version, if you sign up for a free Malwarebytes account. No commitment to buy required. When the 90-day trial is ended, Malwarebytes will only detect and clean, but not prevent, infections. It’s ad-free, forever.

Source: Malwarebytes Security: Virus Cleaner, Anti-Malware – Apps on Google Play

From Gizmodo: These 22 Malware-Riddled Android Apps Might Be Draining Your Phone’s Battery

Malware is finding its’ way on people’s Android devices through apps that are downloaded from the Google Play Store. Google does a pretty good job of tracking these apps down, but sometimes it is to late and the app has already made its mark. Many of these apps had strong reviews. The battery draw occurs due to the app being on a constant run time of reporting back with information and possible grabs of your data.

On Thursday, anti-virus provider Sophos published a report describing its discovery of 22 Android apps that contained a variety of malware the company has named “Andr/Clickr-ad.” The apps come from a variety of small developers, and Sophos said that Google removed them from its Play store at the end of November. One of the offending apps, Sparkle Flashlight, had been downloaded more than a million times and many of them had strong reviews, according to Sophos.

Read More @ Gizmodo

Did you know that “500,000 Android users downloaded malware made by one developer”?

Malware on our Android devices is typically introduced by means such as portrayed in this article, with one goal in mind; and, that is to steal your data. Think about it, your smartphone contains a profile of YOU; where sensitive data could be used to compromise YOU on a personal and a financial basis. I tell people, treat your smartphone as if it is your wallet…

The malware was disguised as various games, and didn’t have any legitimate function; rather, they crashed every time they were launched. Now for the worst part: Stefanko said that before Google removed the apps, two of them were featured in the store’s trending section.

View image on Twitter

Source: 500,000 Android users downloaded malware made by one developer

Here are some tips on “How to Safely and Securely Dispose of Your Old Gadgets” | WIRED

This is IMPORTANT… If you are planning on getting rid of your old devices (smartphone, tablets, computers), PLEASE take at least (at minimum) the necessary steps to clear the device of your data. Always do a backup to ensure you have all of your files, before doing this.

Reflected below, are steps I extracted from the article (see source link below), that will help you wipe an Android device, a Windows Computer, and a Mac. I don’t know how many times I have assisted folks and they throw the old device in the closet somewhere and the device is still holding their entire life…

For Android devices, open up the Settings app then tap System > Advanced > Reset options, and then Erase all data (factory reset). Over on iOS, the equivalent option is in the Settings app under General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

If you’re using a Windows computer, you need to load up the Settings app then click Update & Security, then Recovery, then Get started under the Reset this PC option. Choose to remove all personal files during the process. If you’re using a Chromebook or Chrome OS tablet, open up the Settings pane and pick Advanced, then Powerwash to get your computer into an as-new state.

It’s slightly more involved on a Mac: You need to restart macOS, then as soon as it begins to boot up again, hold Option+Command+R until you see a spinning globe. Release the keys, then choose Reinstall macOS, then choose Continue. Follow the on-screen instructions and select your main hard drive when prompted.

Source: How to Safely and Securely Dispose of Your Old Gadgets | WIRED

A Software Option To “Securely Wipe Your Drives, Save 20 Percent With BitRaser” | by PCMag.com

BitRaser

BitRaser is available in multiple editions that are designed for different use-cases. For typical home and professional users, the BitRaser For File package lets you securely erase an unlimited number of individual files and folders. Step up to the full BitRaser suite, and that will enable you to wipe entire drives securely with a sliding price depending on how many drives you need to wipe – perfect for IT specialists. And if you’re dealing with smartphones, BitRaser for Mobile has you covered on Android and iOS devices.

Source: Securely Wipe Your Drives, Save 20 Percent With BitRaser | PCMag.com

Scam Alert: Don’t Fall For This Facebook ‘Friend Request From You’ Message | by Putnam Daily Voice

Been receiving messages from my Facebook friends that they received another friend request from me and noticed others have been receiving this as well.  Did some research on this and found that this is all BOGUS. Just stop doing it and disregard those messages…  You can read more on this by clicking on the source link below or Google it (numerous sources out there on this matter).

You can stop forwarding that latest warning from your Facebook friends about your account being cloned. You weren’t. It’s bogus. And you’re just making it worse. It starts out:

“Hi….I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account…” Then it tells you to “hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward….” Your account isn’t sending duplicate friend requests. And you didn’t receive a request from the person you’re forwarding it to.

Source: Scam Alert: Don’t Fall For This Facebook ‘Friend Request From You’ Message | Putnam Daily Voice

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑