IMPORTANT: Posting your kid’s photo to Facebook? Maybe think twice.

Technology and Facebook can be wonderful things; however, as technology continues to advance (such as facial recognition), we cannot foresee how this technology can be used in a way that can ultimately compromise our being for financial gain, or ill intent. In all my years as a tech guru, I have seen the good that technology has benefited us; but, there will always be that element of evil that will take technology advancement and use it against us. I encourage you to read this article about posting our kids on Facebook or any social network for that matter and how this ultimately profiles them in a way (as they develop) and how this could be used in the future.

In other words, it’s possible that your precious child’s face is already being studied and analyzed by Facebook in its efforts to build better facial recognition algorithms. What those algorithms could be used for in the future is anyone’s guess, as even Facebook won’t confirm they will just stick to suggested photo tags.

Source: Posting your kid’s photo to Facebook? Maybe think twice.

Scam Alert: Don’t Fall For This Facebook ‘Friend Request From You’ Message | by Putnam Daily Voice

Been receiving messages from my Facebook friends that they received another friend request from me and noticed others have been receiving this as well.  Did some research on this and found that this is all BOGUS. Just stop doing it and disregard those messages…  You can read more on this by clicking on the source link below or Google it (numerous sources out there on this matter).

You can stop forwarding that latest warning from your Facebook friends about your account being cloned. You weren’t. It’s bogus. And you’re just making it worse. It starts out:

“Hi….I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account…” Then it tells you to “hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward….” Your account isn’t sending duplicate friend requests. And you didn’t receive a request from the person you’re forwarding it to.

Source: Scam Alert: Don’t Fall For This Facebook ‘Friend Request From You’ Message | Putnam Daily Voice

How to Delete Your Facebook Account | by PCMag.com

You can delete your account (permanently) but, nothing is ever permanent when it comes to the internet (and that includes Facebook).

To fully delete your Facebook account forever and ever, go to facebook.com/help/delete_account. Just be aware that, per the Facebook data use policy, “after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users.”

Delete Facebook

Source: How to Delete Your Facebook Account | PCMag.com

A Google Chrome Browser Extension That Will Help you Quickly Delete Years of Facebook Posts 

If you are a Facebook junkie and also use the Google Chrome Browser take a look at the Social Book Post Manager that is featured on Lifehacker…

Called Social Book Post Manager, the extension allows you to delete all your posts on the social network before a specific date, or specify the types of posts you’d like to delete through word search. For instance, you can search for posts that contain the name of your ex, or “weed.”

Source: Quickly Delete Years of Facebook Posts With This Chrome Extension

Here is how to Download Your Entire Facebook History

  1. Open a new tab in your web browser and head to Facebook.com and login.
  2. Click on the downward arrow in the top-right corner and choose Settings, or head to Facebook.com/settings.
  3. At the bottom of the General tab click on “Download a copy of your Facebook data.
  4. Select what you would like to include, or leave everything selected (default) then click Create File.
  5. Wait until your data is ready to download. You will receive a notification when it’s done.
  6. Click on the notification, review the file size, then click Download.
  7. Enter your account password to confirm your identity, then wait for the download to complete.

Source: MakeUseOf

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑